The Indian Women’s Cricket Team is taking bigger strides on the international stage, helping women’s cricket grow at a rapid pace in the country.

The launch of the Women’s Premier League (WPL) in 2023 has further fuelled the growth, making women cricketers a mainstay in the Indian cricketing scene. 

Following in the footsteps of the IPL, the WPL has also delivered some memorable performances, with all teams looking to get their hands on the coveted trophy.

This article will list the WPL winners along with their captains.

WPL Winners: Year by Year

YearWinner (Captain)Runner Up (Captain)
2023Mumbai Indians (Harmanpreet Kaur)Delhi Capitals (Meg Lanning)
2024Royal Challengers Bangalore (Smriti Mandhana)Delhi Capitals (Meg Lanning)

Also Read | List: Owners of all 5 WPL teams

Mumbai Indians | 2023

2 of the best teams of the 2023 season, Delhi Capitals (DC) and Mumbai Indians (MI), made it to the summit clash at the Brabourne Stadium. Meg Lanning and Harmanpreet Kaur led their teams exceptionally well, and it all came down to the final match.

The Capitals elected to bat first, but the decision didn’t turn out well for them. DC mustered 131/9 in 20 overs as they lost wickets in a bunch at crucial points.

If not for 2 important partnerships from Marizanne Kapp-Lanning (38 runs) and Shikha Pandey-Radha Yadav (52 runs), the Capitals would have bundled out below 100 runs.

The target wasn’t big for MI, but the Capitals made every effort to make it tough for them. While chasing the target, Mumbai lost both their openers in 4 overs, but Nat Sciver-Brunt partnered with skipper Kaur to take them closer to victory.

MI lost Kaur on 95/3, but Nat, along with Amelia Kerr, held their nerves and finished off the chase with 3 balls to spare. The Mumbai Indians Women’s team added one more trophy to the MI franchise’s cabinet by lifting the inaugural WPL title.

Royal Challengers Bangalore | 2024

Delhi Capitals (DC) and Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) made it to the summit clash of the WPL 2024.

DC won the toss and elected to bat first. The Capitals started with a bang in the powerplay, but they lost steam when they lost wickets in a cluster.

DC were cruising comfortably on 64/0 at the 7th over the mark, but ended up with a mere 113/10.

Chasing the target, RCB got off to a stable start, with the batters taking them closer towards victory. The game entered the last over with 5 runs to win.

On the third ball, Richa Ghosh finished off it in style by hitting a four, ending RCB’s trophy drought! And RCB were crowned champions of the WPL 2024.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *