Big Bash League (BBL) Winners List from 2011 to Till Date

The Big Bash League (BBL) is one of the most popular T20 leagues played in Australia during their summer season every year. Cricket Australia (CA) started BBL in 2011 after the success of the IPL in India.

Even since its inception, the league has garnered eyeballs from cricket fans thanks to extraordinary performances from teams.

The Perth Scorchers is the most successful team in BBL history, having won over 5 titles. Meanwhile, the Sydney Sixers, the inaugural champions, is the second-most successful team.

And here is the complete list of Big Bash League (BBL) winners from 2011 to till date.

Big Bash League (BBL) Winners List: Edition by Edition

EditionWinnerRunner Up
2011-12Sydney SixersPerth Scorchers
2012-13Brisbane HeatPerth Scorchers
2013-14Perth ScorchersHobart Hurricanes
2014-15Perth ScorchersSydney Sixers
2015-16Sydney ThunderMelbourne Stars
2016-17Perth ScorchersSydney Sixers
2017-18Adelaide StrikersHobart Hurricanes
2018-19Melbourne RenegadesMelbourne Stars
2019-20Sydney SixersMelbourne Stars
2020-21Sydney SixersPerth Scorchers
2021-22Perth ScorchersSydney Sixers
2022-23Perth ScorchersBrisbane Heat
2023-24Brisbane HeatSydney Sixers

2011-12 | Sydney Sixes

The first edition final was played between the Perth Scorchers and Sydney Sixers at WACA in Perth. After winning the toss, the Scorchers decided to bat first and scored a competitive 156 runs. In response, the Sixers chased down the target with 7 balls to spare and were crowned the inaugural champions.

2012-13 | Brisbane Heat

The Perth Scorchers made it their successive finals, but they couldn’t lay their hands on the trophy. Batting first, the Brisbane Heat put 167 runs on the board, thanks to valuable contributions from the top order. During the chase, the Scorchers lost wickets at regular intervals, which derailed their chase.

2013-14 | Perth Scorchers

The determined Perth Scorchers turned up for the third time in the final, and this time they came prepared. The Scorchers set a mammoth target of 192 runs, thanks to the brother duo of Shaun Marsh (63* off 43) and Mitchell Marsh (37 off 12). With a disciplined bowling attack, the Scorchers restricted the Hobart Hurricanes to 152/7, winning their maiden title.

2014-15 | Perth Scorchers

In a rematch of the first edition’s final, the Scorchers and Sixers met for the second time in the summit clash. After electing to bat first, the Sixers found themselves on 49/4 at one time, but captain Moises Henriques pushed his team’s total to 147/5. This match went down to the wire, with the Scorchers winning the match on the last ball and lifting their successive title.

2015-16 | Sydney Thunder

The Melbourne Stars and Sydney Thunders reached their first finals in the BBL. In a high-scoring affair, the Stars posted 176 runs on the scoreboard, with Kevin Pietersen scoring 74 off 39. But his efforts went in vain as the Thunder chased it down with 3 balls in hand.

2016-17 | Perth Scorchers

In 6 seasons, the Scorchers made it to their 5th final, showcasing their consistency throughout the tournament’s history. In this season also, Scorchers and Sixers clashed for the third time in the final.

After being asked to bat first, the Sixers faced early jolts, resulting in them posting 141 on the board. The chase was rather a piece of cake for the Scorchers, and they won their third BBL trophy.

2017-18 | Adelaide Strikers

Jake Weatherald’s century (115) took the Adelaide Strikers total to 202 runs. With a huge total to chase, the Hobart Hurricanes started well but couldn’t sustain the momentum and lost the match. The Adelaide Strikers got their hands on the coveted trophy for the first time.

2018-19 | Melbourne Renegades

The Melbourne derby — Renegades and Stars — clashed off in the 2018-19 BBL final. After being invited to bat first, the Renegades managed to score 145 runs. However, the total proved to be enough, as the Stars could reach 132 runs in the chase. The Melbourne Renegades lifted their first BBL title.

2019-20 | Sydney Sixers

In a final interrupted by rain, the Sydney Sixers clinched their second BBL title by defeating the Melbourne Stars. The Sixers put 116 runs on the board in a 12-over-per-side game. In response, the Stars fell short of 19 runs, resulting in the Sixers winning the match.

2020-21 | Sydney Sixers

The Sixers continued their successful run in the 10th edition by lifting their third title and becoming the second team to win successive trophies. Two of the tournament’s most successful teams — Sixers and Scorchers — clashed off one more time in the final.

James Vince’s solid 95-run knock took the Sixers’ total to 188 runs. The Scorchers got off to a decent start, but the Sixers bowlers didn’t let loose, restricting the Scorchers to 161 runs.

2021-22 | Perth Scorchers

Another BBL final and another face-off between the Sixers and Scorchers. This time, the Scorchers got better of the Sixers and etched their name on the BBL trophy for the 4th time.

After being invited to bat first, the Scorchers put up a competitive total of 171 on the scoreboard. While defending the total, the Scorchers dismissed the Sixers on 92 runs.

2022-23 | Perth Scorchers

In a closely contested final between the Brisbane Heat and Perth Scorchers, the defending champions came on top of the Heat. Batting first, the Heat posted 175 runs on the board. In reply, the Scorchers clinched the match and their 5th title with 4 balls to spare.

2023-24 | Brisbane Heat

After ending up as runner-up in the last edition, the Brisbane Heat won their second BBL title in the 13th edition. In the summit clash, they squared off against 3-time champions Sydney Sixers.

The Heat’s top order pushed their total to a fighting score of 166 runs. In response, the Sixers were rattled for 112 runs and Heat won the match by 54 runs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *