Every now and then, when watching a cricket match, we see an unusual way to dismiss a batter—one that does not happen very frequently! In cricket, how many different ways can a batter be dismissed? In cricket, a batter can be given out in one of ten different ways. These include:
Some of the common ways of dismissal are:
1. Caught Out
One of the most frequent methods of dismissal is a batter being caught out. If a ball from the bowler touches a batter and then falls into the hands of any member of the fielding team—including the bowler—the batter is declared out caught.
Several things to consider when thinking about the “Caught out” dismissal –
- As long as the ball doesn’t touch the ground, the batter is out, even if the hand holding the ball touches the ground.
- Even if the fielder catches the ball after it strikes the umpire, another fielder, a runner, a different batter, or any other batter’s equipment, the batter is given out. (as long as the ball stays in the air.)
- The fielder must not have touched the boundary or the ground beyond the boundary while holding the ball in order for the batter to be declared out. This rule applies even if the fielder catches the ball after it has passed the boundary in the air.
- When the ball unintentionally gets caught in the fielder’s clothing (apart from the helmet), the batter is also called out for being caught.
- On a No Ball, the batter cannot be given out caught.
2. Out Bowled
This is yet another technique of dismissal that is frequently used in the game of cricket.
When the bowler’s ball strikes a batter’s wicket and the bails fall off, the batter is declared out bowled. Even if the ball misses the stumps and instead hits the batter’s pad, clothes, or other equipment, the batter can still be declared out bowled. It is crucial to remember that a batter cannot be bowled out unless at least one of the bails is removed.
In the past, the bails have occasionally remained in place even after the ball has struck the stumps. A batter is not out in this situation.
3. Run Out
This is yet another dismissal method that happens frequently. In a cricket match, runs outs are a very typical sight.
A run out occurs when two batters attempt to take a run after the bowler has delivered the ball but are unable to do so before the ball strikes the stumps. Two players are typically required for a run out, such as the bowler and the fielder or the wicketkeeper and the fielder. Therefore, both of the involved players are to blame for the runout.
4. Leg Before Wicket (LBW)
Another prevalent method of termination is leg before wicket. Typically, just the bowler is involved in this.
Leg Before Wicket occurs when a bowler appears to hit the stumps with a delivery, but the batter stops the ball using something other than their bat.
The rule is a little more intricate than what was previously stated. Since the ball misses the stumps, three additional elements are taken into account to determine whether the ball would have struck the stumps or not. The list is as follows:
- The ball should land on the field either outside the off stumps or in line with the stumps.
- The ball’s collision with the batter should be parallel to the stumps.
- The ideal collision point for the ball with the batter is lower, or roughly knee height. To determine the height of the ball after impact, do this.
Also Read: What is Umpire’s Call in DRS Decisions?
Although it occurs less frequently than the ones above, this kind of dismissal is not particularly unusual.
A batter may occasionally leave his crease to execute a cricket stroke. This could occur unintentionally or on purpose. In this situation, the batter is ruled out stumped if the wicketkeeper gathers the ball and strikes the stump before the batter can return to his batting crease.
Several considerations should be made before a batter is declared stumped:
- On a no ball, a batter cannot be given out for stumping.
- A wide ball has the potential to out stump a hitter.
- Stumping begins as soon as the wicketkeeper removes the bails.
- The batter’s bat must cross the line. The batter will be deemed out stumped if the bat is on the line.
- The term “run out” will be used to describe this dismissal rather than “out stumped” if a batter hits or misses the ball and the wicketkeeper also misses the ball, but the two batters decide to take a run before either of them reaches the crease.
- Only the wicketkeeper and the end of the pitch closest to the striker are permitted to stump.
In the various versions of cricket, the five dismissal methods stated above are quite frequent. They almost certainly occur in every game, you can be sure of that.
Some uncommon ways of dismissal are:
6. Hit Wicket
What time does a hit wicket occur? Sometimes a batter will unintentionally hit the stumps and knock the bails off. This might take place while attempting a shot. The bat, the pad, or any other component of the batter could knock the bails loose.
7. Obstructing the Field
A batter can be dismissed for obstructing the field if he or she makes a deliberate attempt to stop the ball from striking the stumps, stopping the fielder from catching the ball, or throwing it to the fielder.
Many times, a batter would run in front of the ball to deflect it away from the stumps. Blocking the wicket regulation is made for situations like this!
The batter’s intention is one of the important things to pay attention to in such a situation. The batter may be dismissed if they purposefully block the path of the ball as it approaches the stumps.
8. Handled the Ball
One of the most uncommon ways for a batter to be eliminated is through this kind of dismissal!
A batter may be dismissed if they touch the ball with a hand that is not in contact with his bat in an effort to stop it from striking the stumps. had the ball in hand! A batter is permitted to defend their wickets, i.e., stop the ball from striking them. Just like that, they are not allowed to do it with their hand. However, if a batter prevents the ball from striking the stumps by using his legs, bat, or any other part of his body, they will not be considered out.
9. Hitting the Ball Twice
In the history of international cricket, this kind of dismissal has never happened.
A batter is out if he intentionally hits the ball with his bat a second time before it reaches the fielder. Twice Hit the Ball!
There are a few things to keep in mind about such a dismissal:
- A batter cannot be out if they smack the ball twice while protecting their stumps.
- If a batter knocks the ball twice to return it to the fielder, it cannot be given out in this manner. To avoid being ruled out, the batter must obtain the fielder’s consent before returning the ball.
- Once the fielder has touched the ball, they can touch it with their bat.
10. Timed Out
Similarly, this kind of dismissal has never happened in international cricket!
This regulation states that the next batter might be Timed Out if he or she is not ready to take guard and face the next delivery within three minutes of the wicket falling.