What is the Format of the Hundred Competition?

Cricket is one of those few global sports that are played in different formats. It all started with those timeless Tests, then came ODIs, and T20s took the world by storm.

Now, Test, ODI, and T20 are the 3 main formats, but in recent years, we have seen new, shortened formats crop up. The Hundred format, introduced by the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB), is one of them, trying to gain a stronghold among the other renowned T20 leagues.

Now, what is this Hundred competition? How does the format work?

Well, let’s get to know the format of The Hundred competition.

What is The Hundred?

As the name suggests, The Hundred is a 100-ball cricket league, a truncated version of the T20 format. The ECB, which also invented T20 cricket, is the brainchild behind the creation of competition.

What was the need for a different format?

Well, the ECB noticed that the younger audience was losing interest in cricket. Thus, in 2021, they launched a fast-paced, exciting, and easier-to-follow format to bring back the younger crowd.

What is the Format of The Hundred Competition?

Most of the rules are the same as T20 cricket, though the league has made some tweaks.


2 teams participate in a Hundred match, which has 2 innings of 100 balls each. Each inning lasts for approximately 65 minutes, with a 15-minute break in between, making a single Hundred match a 2-and-a-half-hour affair. Moreover, each bowling team can take a strategic timeout of 90 seconds.

One team bats in the first innings and the other bowls. After the first innings is over, the teams switch sides for the second innings. The team that scores the most runs wins the match.


Unlike T20 cricket, a single over is made up of 5 balls in The Hundred. A bowler can deliver a maximum of 20 balls per innings (4 overs).

Furthermore, a bowler can either bowl 5 consecutive balls (1 over) or 10 balls in a row (2 overs). After every 10 balls, the fielding side changes their bowling end.


Each team gets a powerplay of 25 balls, which are part of the first 5 overs. During the powerplay phase, only 2 fielders can be placed outside of the 30-yard circle.

Also Read | The Powerplay Overs Rule in T20 Cricket

How many teams play in The Hundred league?

The ECB organises The Hundred tournament for both men and women. A total of 8 teams representing 7 cities in England and Wales participate in the competition.

Here is the list of The Hundred teams:

Birmingham Phoenix, London Spirit, Manchester Originals, Northern Superchargers, Oval Invincibles, Southern Brave, Trent Rockets, Welsh Fire.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *