ILT20 Winners List from 2023 to Date

The popularity of the T20 format is on the rise in associate nations. And they also want to ride on this wave by starting their own T20 leagues.

The United Arab Emirates (UAE) has been a hotbed for cricket since the 1980s, and now the UAE cricket team is making big strides on the international stage. To further boost the sport’s reach in the region, the Emirates Cricket Board (ECB) launched the International League T20 (ILT20) in 2023.

The ILT20 has attracted eyeballs from around the globe as many international stars ply their trade in the league. Moreover, the 6-team tournament promises to deliver extraordinary performances as they aim to win the trophy.

In this article, we’ll look at the winners of ILT20 from 2023 to date.

ILT20 Winners: Edition by Edition

EditionWinnerRunner Up
2023Gulf GiantsDesert Vipers
2024MI EmiratesDubai Capitals

Gulf Giants | 2023

The ILT20 kicked off its inaugural season in January 2024. After a month-long competition, the Gulf Giants and Desert Vipers battled it out in the inaugural final match. 

After being asked to bat first, the Desert Vipers lost 2 wickets in the first 2 overs, putting them on the back foot. However, Wanindu Hasanaga’s 55 off 27 made sure they put a fighting total of 146 on the board.

During the run chase, Chris Lynn’s insane 72* runs in 50 balls, along with a powerful cameo from Shimron Hetmyer (25 off 13), helped seal the win for the Giants with ease. The victory resulted in the Gulf Giants being crowned the inaugural winners of the ILT20.

MI Emirates | 2024

The Mumbai Indians franchise has a golden history of winning IPL titles, and their UAE affiliate franchise took inspiration from them to lift the maiden ILT20 trophy in 2024.

The second season saw the power-packed MI Emirates pitted against the Dubai Capitals. Put in to bat first, the Emirates’ top 4 batters clicked in the crucial clash, helping the team to post a huge 208 runs on the board.

While chasing the target, the Capitals faced a setback on the second delivery of the innings, as they lost their first wicket on zero. However, Tom Banton, captain Sam Billings, and Jason Holder stepped up but couldn’t take the team over the ropes.

As a result, Emirates won the match by 45 runs and got their hands on the ILT20 trophy in the 2024 season.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *