SA20 Winners List from 2023 to Date

SA20, a newer league on the T20 circuit, has caught the attention of fans from around the world in a short period. So far, the South African league has witnessed some thrilling performances from teams and players.

Moreover, the electric atmosphere in different South African venues adds to the excitement around the matches. The 6-team tournament guarantees to provide many more remarkable moments as teams battle it out to get their hands on the coveted trophy.

Here are the winners of the SA20 league from 2023 to date.

SA20 Winners: Edition by Edition

EditionWinnerRunner Up
2023Sunrisers Eastern CapePretoria Capitals
2024Sunrisers Eastern CapeDurban’s Super Giants

Sunrisers Eastern Cape | 2023, 2024

The SA20 kicked off with 6 teams, all owned by IPL franchise owners. The inaugural season saw the Pretoria Capitals take on the Sunrisers Eastern Cape in the final.

After being asked to bat first, the Capitals were bowled out for a mere 135 runs. In response, the Sunrisers thumped the Capitals by 4 wickets. With that, the Sunrisers Eastern Cape won the inaugural SA20 trophy.

In the 2024 season, the Sunrisers made it to yet another final, while Durban’s Super Giants appeared in the summit clash for the first time. 

The final took place in Cape Town, where the defending champions gave the Super Giants bowlers a run for their money. Batting first, the Sunrisers posted a massive 204 runs on the board, thanks to fifties from Tom Abell (55) and Tristan Stubbs (56*).

While chasing the target, the Super Giants faced early blows as they lost 3 wickets for 7 runs. Later, Matthew Breetzke and Wiaan Mulder built a partnership, however, once both returned to the pavilion, it was all but over for them.

The defending champions, Sunrisers Eastern Cape, successfully defended their title and won the SA20 in a row.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *