India Squad for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024

On April 30, 2024, the BCCI announced the much-anticipated Indian squad for the 2024 ICC T20 World Cup. The tournament will kick off on June 2 (according to India’s time zone) in the West Indies and USA, with India’s campaign opener scheduled against Ireland on June 5.

Rohit Sharma will lead the 15-member squad, with Hardik Pandya appointed as his deputy. Along with that, 4 players are also selected as travelling reserves.

Captain Sharma, Virat Kohli, and Suryakumar Yadav solidify the batting unit, along with young opener Yashasvi Jaiswal. Rishabh Pant and Sanju Samson will handle the wicketkeeping duties along with powering the batting unit. 

Pant is making a comeback to the senior side after recovering from a deadly car accident in December 2022. Samson, on the other hand, will represent India in an ICC event for the first time.

Apart from vice-captain Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Shivam Dube, and Axar Patel will ply their trade with both bat and ball. 

India’s ace fast bowler, Jasprit Bumrah, will spearhead the pace attack, including Mohammed Siraj and Arshdeep Singh. While the wrist-spinner duo of Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal will assist Jadeja and Patel in the spin department.

Apart from the 15-member squad, 4 players — Shubman Gill, Rinku Singh, Khaleel Ahmed, and Avesh Khan — are part of the travelling reserves. If needed, they might be added to the squad.

India’s 2024 T20 World Cup Squad

Batters: Rohit Sharma (C), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav

Wicketkeepers: Rishabh Pant, Sanju Samson

All-rounders: Hardik Pandya (vc), Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel

Bowlers: Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Arshdeep Singh, Mohammed Siraj, Yuzvendra Chahal

India’s Fixtures for T20 World Cup 2024

India is placed in Group A along with Pakistan, Ireland, Canada, and the USA. India’s schedule for the tournaments is as follows:

June 5: India vs Ireland, New York | 9:30 AM (Local)/8:00 PM (IST)

June 9: India vs Pakistan, New York | 9:30 AM (Local)/8:00 PM (IST)

June 12: India vs USA, New York | 9:30 AM (Local)/8:00 PM (IST)

June 15: India vs Canada, Florida | 10:30 AM (Local)/8:00 PM (IST)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *