Cricket’s exciting tournament, the ICC T20 World Cup, is all set to make its comeback in 2024. The West Indies and the USA will co-host the 9th edition of the T20 World Cup from June 1 to June 29, 2024.

The West Indies will be hosting the T20 World Cup for the second time since 2010. However, the USA will host a major ICC event for the first time.

Co-hosts USA will kick off the tournament with the opening clash against neighbouring Canada on June 1 in Dallas. While the summit clash will take place on June 29 in Barbados.

The tournament will see 55 matches split across Group Stage, Super 8s, and Knockouts. All matches will be hosted across 9 venues, with the Super 8 and Knockout Stage played in the Caribbean Islands.

T20 World Cup 2024: Teams and Groups

The 2024 tournament will be truly historical as the T20 World Cup expands to 20 teams. All 20 teams will be split into 4 groups of 5 teams each.

The 4 groups for the T20 World Cup 2024 are:

Group A: India, Pakistan, Ireland, USA, Canada

Group B: England, Australia, Namibia, Scotland, Oman

Group C: New Zealand, West Indies, Afghanistan, Uganda, Papua New Guinea

Group D: South Africa, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Netherlands, Nepal

After the conclusion of the group stage, the top 2 teams from each group will qualify for the Super 8 stage. The 8 teams will be put into 2 groups of 4 teams each, with the top 2 from each group making it to the Semi-Final.

Check out the T20 World Cup 2024 format here.

Also Read | How Many Teams have T20I Status in Cricket?

T20 World Cup 2024: Venues

9 venues across the USA and the West Indies will host the T20 World Cup matches. Here are the venues:

  1. Central Broward Park | Lauderhill, Florida, USA 
  2. Eisenhower Park | Nassau County, Long Island, New York, USA
  3. Grand Prairie Stadium | Grand Prairie, Texas, USA
  4. Kensington Oval | Bridgetown, Barbados
  5. Daren Sammy Cricket Ground | Gros Islet, Saint Lucia
  6. Arnos Vale Stadium | Kingstown, Saint Vincent
  7. Brian Lara Cricket Academy | San Fernando, Trinidad
  8. Sir Vivian Richards Stadium | North Sound, Antigua
  9. Guyana National Stadium | Providence, Guyana

T20 World Cup 2024: Schedule and Timings

Group Stage

DateMatchVenueTime (Local/IST)
Jun 1USA vs CanadaDallas7:30 PM/6:00 AM (Jun 2)
Jun 2West Indies vs Papua New GuineaGuyana10:30 AM/8:00 PM
Jun 2Namibia vs OmanBarbados8:30 PM/6:00 AM (Jun 3)
Jun 3Sri Lanka vs South AfricaNew York9:30 AM/8:00 PM
Jun 3Afghanistan vs UgandaGuyana8:30 PM/6:00 AM (Jun 4)
Jun 4England vs Scotland Barbados10:30 AM/8:00 PM
Jun 4Netherlands vs NepalDallas10:30 AM/9:00 PM
Jun 5India vs Ireland New York9:30 AM/8:00 PM
Jun 5Australia vs OmanBarbados8:30 PM/6:00 AM (Jun 6)
Jun 5Papua New Guinea vs UgandaGuyana7:30 PM/5:00 AM (Jun 6)
Jun 6USA vs PakistanDallas10:30 AM/9:00 PM
Jun 6Namibia vs ScotlandBarbados3:00 PM/12:30 AM (Jun 7)
Jun 7Canada vs IrelandNew York9:30 AM/8:00 PM
Jun 7New Zealand vs AfghanistanGuyana7:30 PM/5:00 AM (Jun 8)
Jun 7Sri Lanka vs BangladeshDallas7:30 PM/6:00 AM (Jun 8)
Jun 8Netherlands vs South AfricaNew York9:30 AM/8:00 PM
Jun 8Australia vs EnglandBarbados1:00 PM/10:30 PM
Jun 8West Indies vs UgandaGuyana8:30 PM/6:00 AM (Jun 9)
Jun 9India vs PakistanNew York9:30 AM/8:00 PM
Jun 9Oman vs ScotlandAntigua1:00 PM/10:30 PM
Jun 10South Africa vs BangladeshNew York9:30 AM/8:00 PM
Jun 11Pakistan vs CanadaNew York9:30 AM/8:00 PM
Jun 11Sri Lanka vs NepalFlorida7:30 PM/5:00 AM (Jun 12)
Jun 11Australia vs NamibiaAntigua8:30 PM/6:00 AM (Jun 12)
Jun 12USA vs IndiaNew York9:30 AM/8:00 PM
Jun 12West Indies vs New ZealandTrinidad8:30 PM/6:00 AM (Jun 13)
Jun 13Bangladesh vs NetherlandsSaint Vincent10:30 AM/8:00 PM
Jun 13England vs OmanAntigua3:00 PM/12:30 AM (Jun 14)
Jun 13Afghanistan vs Papua New GuineaTrinidad8:30 PM/6:00 AM (Jun 14)
Jun 14USA vs IrelandFlorida10:30 AM/8:00 PM
Jun 14South Africa vs NepalSaint Vincent7:30 PM/5:00 AM (Jun 15)
Jun 14New Zealand vs UgandaTrinidad8:30 PM/6:00 AM (Jun 15)
Jun 15India vs CanadaFlorida10:30 AM/8:00 PM
Jun 15Namibia vs EnglandAntigua1:00 PM/10:30 PM
Jun 15Australia vs ScotlandSaint Lucia8:30 PM/6:00 AM (Jun 16)
Jun 16Pakistan vs IrelandFlorida10:30 AM/8:00 PM
Jun 16Bangladesh vs Nepal Saint Vincent7:30 PM/5:00 AM (Jun 17)
Jun 16Sri Lanka vs NetherlandsSaint Lucia8:30 PM/6:00 AM (Jun 17)
Jun 17New Zealand vs Papua New GuineaTrinidad10:30 AM/8:00 PM
Jun 17West Indies vs AfghanistanSaint Lucia8:30 PM/6:00 AM (Jun 18)

Super 8 and Knockout Stage

Jun 19A2 vs D1Antigua10:30 AM/8:00 PM
Jun 19B1 vs C2Saint Lucia8:30 PM/6:00 AM (Jun 20)
Jun 20C1 vs A1Barbados10:30 AM/8:00 PM
Jun 20B2 vs D2Antigua8:30 PM/6:00 AM (Jun 21)
Jun 21B1 vs D1Saint Lucia10:30 AM/8:00 PM
Jun 21A2 vs C2Barbados8:30 PM/6:00 AM (Jun 22)
Jun 22A1 vs D2Antigua10:30 AM/8:00 PM
Jun 22C1 vs B2Saint Vincent8:30 PM/6:00 AM (Jun 23)
Jun 23A2 vs B1Barbados10:30 AM/8:00 PM
Jun 23C2 vs D1Antigua8:30 PM/6:00 AM (Jun 23)
Jun 24B2 vs A1Saint Lucia10:30 AM/8:00 PM
Jun 24C1 vs D2Saint Vincent8:30 PM/6:00 AM (Jun 23)
Jun 26Semi-Final 1Guyana8:30 PM/6:00 AM (Jun 27)
Jun 27Semi-Final 2Trinidad10:30 AM/8:00 PM
Jun 29FINALBarbados10:00 AM/7:30 PM

T20 World Cup 2024: Broadcast and Livestream

In India, the 9th edition of the T20 World Cup will be broadcast live on Star Sports Network’s TV channels. And they will also livestream the matches on the Disney+ Hotstar app.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *