Cricket has long been alluring because of its thrilling contests, fierce rivalries, and the monetary opportunities it provides to gifted players. The annual player contracts for Team India (Senior Men) for the 2023–2024 season were made public by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), paving the way for some staggering pay scales.

Let’s examine more closely the salary information for the Indian cricket players for the forthcoming season as fans excitedly anticipate the action-packed cricket schedule.

BCCI Contract Categories

Grade A+, Grade A, Grade B, and Grade C are the four categories into which the BCCI has divided the contracts. With Grade A+ being the highest and Grade C being the lowest, each category corresponds to a certain wage scale. These agreements are valid from October 1, 2023, through September 30, 2024.

Grade A+ (INR 7 Crore)

1. Rohit Sharma: 

The captain, Rohit Sharma, is at the top of the list in the Grade A+ category due to his explosive batting, leadership abilities, and countless records. He is expected to make an astounding INR 7 crore this season.

2. Virat Kohli: 

The former captain, Virat Kohli, who is the foundation of the Indian batting order, earns INR 7 crore, the same amount as Rohit Sharma.

3. Jasprit Bumrah: 

Jasprit Bumrah, the fiery fast bowler who is renowned for his deadly yorkers and accuracy, gets paid INR 7 crore and is also classified as Grade A+.

4. Ravindra Jadeja:

With a salary of INR 7 crore, Ravindra Jadeja, the dynamic all-rounder known for his powerful batting, faultless fielding, and precise bowling, rounds out the list in this category.

Grade A (INR 5 Crore)

1. Hardik Pandya: 

Pandya, the explosive all-rounder known for his powerful hits and game-changing strikes, is in the Grade A category and receives INR 5 crore.

2. R. Ashwin: 

R. Ashwin, the seasoned spinner who will earn INR 5 crore and is renowned for his traditional off-spin and ability to trick batters, is also ranked in Grade A.

3. Mohammad Shami: 

The Grade A category’s top earner, the paceman with his toe-crushing Yorkers and pace, earns INR 5 crore.

4. Mohammad Siraj: 

The speedster, who has earned INR 5 crore for his impressive pace and swing, is in the Grade A category.

5. KL Rahul:

The graceful batsman, who has excelled in a variety of formats, is also ranked in Grade A and receives INR 5 crore.

6. Shubman Gill: 

Shubman Gill, the young opener who earns INR 5 crore, rounds out the list in this category with his traditional strokes and potential talent.

Grade B (INR 3 Crore)

1. Suryakumar Yadav: 

Suryakumar Yadav, the explosive hitter who has created an impression with his aggressive batting, gets paid INR 3 crore and is also assigned to Grade B.

2. Rishabh Pant: 

With a salary of INR 3 crore, Rishabh Pant, the wicketkeeper-batsman who is renowned for his explosive batting and match-winning heroics, is also a member of Grade B.

3. Kuldeep Yadav: 

Kuldeep Yadav, the left-arm wrist spinner who is renowned for his unconventional bowling, is also assigned to Grade B and paid INR 3 crore annually.

4. Axar Patel: 

With a salary of INR 3 crore, the left-arm spinner, who made an impressive Test debut, has also earned a spot in the Grade B category.

5. Yashasvi Jaiswal:

On the back of a stellar start to his career, Yashasvi Jaiswal has earned a Grade B contract from BCCI and will make INR 3 crore.

Grade C (INR 1 Crore)

1. Ruturaj Gaekwad: 

The opening batter, who belongs to Grade C and makes INR 1 crore, is renowned for a penchant for scoring runs.

2. Shivam Dube:

Shivam Dube, the left-handed opener who is praised for his aggressive hitting, is also assigned to Grade C and paid INR 1 crore annually.

3. Shardul Thakur: 

The all-rounder, who has contributed significantly with both bat and ball, is in the Grade C category and receives INR 1 crore.

4. Jitesh Sharma:

A Grade C player with a salary of INR 1 crore, he is an explosive wicketkeeper-batsman who has excelled with his daring approach.

5. Rinku Singh: 

The dynamic pinch-hitter, who is renowned for his aggressive batting style, is also paid INR 1 crore and is classified as Grade C.

6. Ravi Bishnoi: 

Ravi Bishnoi, a member of Grade C who is renowned for his artistic wrist spin, earns INR 1 crore.

7. Tilak Verma:

The aggressive Hyderabad batter has left his mark in his short career, bagging a Grade C contract.

8. Mukesh Kumar:

With renowned performances in domestic setup and Indian jersey, Mukesh Kumar gets a Grade C contract.

9. Sanju Samson: 

The famed wicketkeeper-batsman, known for his graceful strokes, falls into the Grade C category and receives INR 1 crore.

10. Arshdeep Singh:

The talented young left-arm bowler, who has displayed promise in both his swing and pace, is also assigned to Grade C and paid INR 1 crore annually.

11. Washington Sundar:

The list in this category is completed by the useful lower-order batsman and off-spinner Washington Sudar, who gets paid INR 1 crore.

12. Prasidh Krishna:

The tall pacer from Karnataka, Prasidh Krishna, makes his mark on the Grade C list.

13. Avesh Khan:

Avesh Khan is a promising talent and can trouble the batters with his pace.

14. Rajat Patidar:

The classy middle-order batsman, who is renowned for his graceful stroke play, is paid INR 1 crore and is in Grade C.

15. KS Bharat:

With a salary of INR 1 crore, the wicketkeeper-batsman rounds up the list in this category.

Also Read: List of England Cricketer’s Salary and Their Contracts

Fast Bowling Contracts

The BCCI has also provided upcoming fast bowlers with specific fast-bowling contracts. The fast bowlers who are part of this contract are:

Akash Deep, Vijaykumar Vyshak, Umran Malik, Yash Dayal and Vidwath Kaverappa

Indian Cricketers Top Gainers and Losers

The cricket players who have accrued points and advanced to the next level on the BCCI central contract salary list for 2023-24 are listed below:

  • Mohammed Siraj has advanced from grade B to grade A
  • Shubman Gill: From grade B to A
  • Kuldeep Yadav: From grade C to B

Below are the names of two players who lost their positions and were demoted to a lower grade:

  • Grade A (INR 5 cr) to B (INR 3 cr) for Rishabh Pant
  • Axar Patel was demoted from A (INR 3 cr) to B (INR 1 cr).

Furthermore, some players have been removed from the BCCI central contracts. The annual contracts of Ishan Kishan and Shreyas Iyer have been terminated. While Yashasvi Jaiswal has received his first contract after being promoted to Grade C.

Read Next: Australian Cricketers and their Salary Structure – Detailed

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *