Everyone knows MS Dhoni plays for Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Virat Kohli plays for Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB). But have you ever wondered who the owners of the IPL teams are?

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is a festival of cricket in India. The BCCI owns the IPL, one of the most popular cricket leagues in the world.

Since its inception, the league has grown by leaps and bounds, attracting fan following from across the globe. Like the league’s popularity, the franchises have also garnered enormous love and following.

So, in this article, we’ll look at the owners of all IPL teams.

List: IPL Team Owners

Chennai Super KingsChennai Super Kings Cricket Limited
Delhi CapitalsGMR Group and JSW Group
Gujarat TitansCVC Capital
Kolkata Knight RidersRed Chillies Entertainment and Mehta Group
Lucknow Super GiantsRPSG Group (Sanjiv Goenka)
Mumbai IndiansIndiawin Sports (Reliance Group)
Punjab KingsMohit Burman, Preity Zinta, Ness Wadia, and Karan Paul
Rajasthan RoyalsEmerging Media IPL Ltd (Manoj Badale), Redbird Capital Partners, and Lachlan Murdoch
Royal Challengers BangaloreUnited Spirits Limited
Sunrisers HyderabadSUN Group

Chennai Super Kings (CSK)

CSK is a Chennai-based IPL team with its home ground at the M.A. Chidambaram Stadium. India Cements holding company, Chennai Super Kings Cricket Limited, owns the CSK team.

N. Srinivasan, former BCCI President, owns the franchise through the holding company. So far, the team has won many IPL titles and the now-defunct Champions League.

Delhi Capitals (DC)

Before 2018, the GMR Group owned 100% stakes in the Delhi-based team. At that time, the franchise was named Delhi Daredevils.

In March 2018, the GMR Group sold its 50% stake to the JSW Group, and now the team is co-owned by both groups. The next year, the franchise was renamed Delhi Capitals.

Gujarat Titans (GT)

Looking at the craze of the IPL, in 2021, the BCCI decided to add 2 more teams in the league, one of which was the Gujarat Titans. The Ahmedabad-based team belongs to the Luxembourg-based private equity and investment advisory firm CVC Capital.

CVC Capital raised a whopping bid of Rs. 5,625 crore to acquire the Ahmedabad-based franchise. Later, they named it the Gujarat Titans, and they went on to win the 2021 IPL in their inaugural season under the captaincy of Hardik Pandya.

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)

In India, cricket and Bollywood go hand in hand. And KKR is a perfect example of this.

Shahrukh Khan (Red Chillies Entertainment) and Juhi Chawla and her husband Jay Mehta (Mehta Group) own the majority stakes in the Kolkata-based team. KKR plays their home matches at the iconic Eden Gardens and has won the league a significant number of times.

Lucknow Super Giants (LSG)

Apart from the Gujarat Giants, the BCCI sold the team rights for one more franchise based out of Lucknow. The RPSG Group, owned by Sanjiv Goenka, is the owner of the Lucknow Super Giants.

The RPSG Group paid a staggering Rs. 7,090 crore to secure the ownership of LSG. Previously, the group also owned the Rising Pune Supergiant in the IPL for 2 years between 2016 and 2017.

Mumbai Indians (MI)

Mumbai Indians, one of the most successful teams in the IPL alongside CSK, boasts some prominent players in their squad. The Mumbai-based franchise has the backing of Reliance Group’s subsidiary, Indiawin Sports.

Mukesh Ambani, one of the richest person on the Earth, owns the Reliance Group. His wife, Nita Ambani, and son, Akash Ambani, are closely associated with the team.

Punjab Kings (PBKS)

The Punjab Kings, previously known as Kings XI Punjab, has many individuals as its owners. Dabur Group’s Mohit Burman holds the majority stake in the franchise, along with Preity Zinta, Ness Wadia, and Karan Paul.

Despite having some big names in their ranks, the team has fared poorly throughout the IPL season.

Rajasthan Royals (RR)

The Jaipur-based team is owned by multiple partners, with Manoj Badale’s Emerging Media IPL Ltd. holding the majority stake. Other prominent owners include Redbird Capital Partners and businessman Lachlan Murdoch.

The team has had the services of many prolific players, like legendary spinner Shane Warne, who led the team to win the title in the 2008 inaugural season.

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)

The Bangalore-based franchise has a huge fan following, thanks to India’s star player, Virat Kohli. United Spirits Limited, an alcoholic beverage company, owns the RCB team.

India’s business tycoon, Vijay Mallya, was associated with the team from the beginning. But he had to step away as Diageo Group bought majority shares in United Spirits.

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH)

In 2012, Sunrisers Hyderabad replaced another Hyderabad-based team, the Deccan Chargers. The SUN Group, owned by Kalanithi Maran, acquired the ownership of SRH.

The SRH featured in the 2013 IPL for the first time, and they also won their maiden title led by David Warner in 2016.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *