The Indian Premier League (IPL) is one of the most competitive leagues in the world, showcasing thrilling encounters and exceptional talent. 

Since its inception in 2008, the IPL has captivated billions of fans as teams battle it out against each other in fierce contests.

The gruelling 2-month long tournament has seen several teams vying for the prestigious trophy, with a few establishing their dominance.

In this article, we look at the IPL-winning teams along with their captains.

IPL Winners: Year by Year

YearWinner (Captain)Runner Up
2008Rajasthan Royals (Shane Warne)Chennai Super Kings (MS Dhoni)
2009Deccan Chargers (Adam Gilchrist)Royal Challengers Bangalore (Anil Kumble)
2010Chennai Super Kings (MS Dhoni)Mumbai Indians (Sachin Tendulkar)
2011Chennai Super Kings (MS Dhoni)Royal Challengers Bangalore (Daniel Vettori)
2012Kolkata Knight Riders (Gautam Gambhir)Chennai Super Kings (MS Dhoni)
2013Mumbai Indians (Rohit Sharma)Chennai Super Kings (MS Dhoni)
2014Kolkata Knight Riders (Gautam Gambhir)Kings XI Punjab (George Bailey)
2015Mumbai Indians (Rohit Sharma)Chennai Super Kings (MS Dhoni)
2016Sunrisers Hyderabad (David Warner)Royal Challengers Bangalore (Virat Kohli)
2017Mumbai Indians (Rohit Sharma)Rising Pune Supergiants (Steve Smith)
2018Chennai Super Kings (MS Dhoni)Sunrisers Hyderabad (Kane Williamson)
2019Mumbai Indians (Rohit Sharma)Chennai Super Kings (MS Dhoni)
2020Mumbai Indians (Rohit Sharma)Delhi Capitals (Shreyas Iyer)
2021Chennai Super Kings (MS Dhoni)Kolkata Knight Riders (Eoin Morgan)
2022Gujarat Titans (Hardik Pandya)Rajasthan Royals (Sanju Samson)
2023Chennai Super Kings (MS Dhoni)Gujarat Titans (Hardik Pandya)

Also Read | Complete List of All IPL Team Owners

Mumbai Indians | 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, 2020

The Mumbai Indians (MI) became the first team to win the IPL 5 times. All of their 5 title triumphs came under the captaincy of Rohit Sharma.

The Hitman led Mumbai to their first IPL trophy in 2013 after he was appointed captain in the middle of the tournament. Mi defeated the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) by 23 runs at the Eden Gardens.

They reclaimed the trophy for the second time in 2015 by again thrashing CSK by 41 runs. Mumbai’s next 2 title victories were last-ball thrillers wherein they beat the Rising Pune Supergiants (2017) and CSK (2019) by the barest margin of 1 run.

MI successfully defended the IPL championship in 2020 by crushing the Delhi Capitals target of 157 runs with 5 wickets and 8 balls to spare.

Chennai Super Kings | 2010, 2011, 2018, 2021, 2023

The Chennai Super Kings are one of the most successful teams in the IPL, having won the championship 5 times. Moreover, CSK is the most consistent team throughout the league’s history, with 12 playoff appearances — the most by a team.

India’s former captain, MS Dhoni, was at the helm of the team in the 5 title victories. Captain Cool guided the team to their first 2 trophies on the trot in 2010 and 2011, becoming the first captain and team to win the IPL in consecutive seasons.

CSK had to wait 7 years for their third title, but it was worth it. The Chennai-based team got their hands on the trophy in 2018 after being banned for 2 seasons (2016 and 2017).

The next 2 triumphs came within a span of 3 years, with the fourth and fifth titles coming in 2021 and 2023.

Also Read | 5 Things That Set MS Dhoni Apart From Other Captains

Kolkata Knight Riders | 2012, 2014

The Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) are the only other team to have won the IPL more than once. KKR clinched the title twice under the leadership of Gautam Gambhir.

In the 2012 final, KKR faced the defending champions, CSK. However, they overcame the heavyweights by crushing them with a margin of 5 wickets to claim their maiden IPL triumph.

2 years later, Kolkata was up against the Kings XI Punjab in the 2014 summit clash. It was a tough chase for them, but KKR sneaked victory by 3 wickets to etch their name on the trophy for the second time.

Also Read | IPL Orange Cap Winners List From 2008 to Date

Rajasthan Royals | 2008

The Rajasthan Royals (RR) became the first-ever team to emerge as IPL winners. The legendary Australian spinner Shane Warne led RR to the IPL victory in the inaugural season.

Yusuf Pathan’s all-round brilliance helped the Royals beat CSK in a last-ball thriller played at the DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai.

Deccan Chargers | 2009

Another Australian marched with his team to claim the coveted trophy in the 2009 season. Adam Gilchrist was in charge of the now-defunct Deccan Chargers franchise, which won the IPL championship in 2009 by defeating the Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Also Read | IPL Purple Cap Winners List From 2008 to Date

Sunrisers Hyderabad | 2016

In 2016, a Hyderabad-based team won the IPL trophy for the second time, although with a different franchise. The Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) replaced the Deccan Chargers in the 2013 season.

It took them 4 seasons to lay their hands on the IPL title. The David Warner-led team handed a heart-breaking defeat to RCB in the final, making Warner the third overseas player to win the tournament.

Gujarat Titans | 2022

The Gujarat Titans (GT) made a bold statement by winning the IPL in their maiden season. The Ahmedabad-based team was playing for the first time in the T20 championship and went on to clinch the trophy under Hardik Pandya’s captaincy.

GT overpowered the inaugural champions, the Rajasthan Royals, by 7 wickets. With that, the Titans became only the second team to win the IPL in their maiden season.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *