Pakistan Super League (PSL) Winners List from 2016 to Date

Cricket in the Subcontinent is more than a mere sport. And it’s pretty much evident from the rising popularity of the Pakistan Super League (PSL).

PSL, Pakistan’s premier T20 league, has caught up with other prominent T20 leagues since its inception in 2016. The league has given a platform to many local Pakistani players to rub their shoulders with renowned international cricketers.

PSL started with 5 teams, but now it has 6 teams competing for the coveted trophy. In this article, we’ll look at the winners of the Pakistan Super League (PSL).

Pakistan Super League (PSL) Winners List: Edition by Edition

EditionWinnerRunner Up
2016Islamabad UnitedQuetta Gladiators
2017Peshawar ZalmiQuetta Gladiators
2018Islamabad UnitedPeshawar Zalmi
2019Quetta GladiatorsPeshawar Zalmi
2020Karachi KingsLahore Qalandars
2021Multan SultansPeshawar Zalmi
2022Lahore QalandarsMultan Sultans
2023Lahore QalandarsMultan Sultans
2024Islamabad UnitedMultan Sultans

2016 | Islamabad United

Islamabad United were the inaugural champions of the PSL in 2016. The first edition took place in the UAE, with Dubai and Sharjah hosting the matches.

The first season saw Islamabad United led by Misbah-ul-Haq and Quetta Gladiators led by Sarfaraz Ahmed tussle in the final. The Gladiators put up a challenging 174 on the board, but United’s top-order batters steered them to the trophy with ease.

2017 | Peshawar Zalmi

The second season was also staged in the UAE, though the season finale took place at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore, Pakistan. Speaking of the final, the Quetta Gladiators made it to their second final on the trot and faced off against Peshawar Zalmi in the all-important match.

Batting first, Zalmi posted 148 runs on the scoreboard despite some hiccups. However, their disciplined bowling attack rattled the Gladiators on 99 runs, getting them crowned champions in 2017.

2018 | Islamabad United

The 2018 edition featured one additional team, the Multan Sultans, making it a 6-team tournament. The league’s group stage happened in the UAE, while 3 of the 4 playoff matches took place in Lahore and Karachi.

Islamabad United, the inaugural champions, after missing out on the final in the last edition, made it to their second final. The 2018 edition put 2 champions against each other in the final.

Peshawar Zalmi repeated their 2017 final performance in this match as well, putting 148 runs on the board. The United batters struggled for some time after a solid start, but they found their way to the target. This victory made Islamabad United the first team to win the PSL 2 times.

2019 | Quetta Gladiators

After falling short of winning the PSL in the first 2 editions, the Quetta Gladiators came out with flying colours in their third attempt. The other finalists, Peshawar Zalmi, reached their third consecutive PSL final.

This time around, the Gladiators put in a collective effort to trounce Zalmi in all departments. The Gladiators chased down 139 runs rather easily to claim their maiden PSL title.

2020 | Karachi Kings

The fifth edition of the PSL was completely staged in Pakistan for the first time, though the playoffs were rescheduled due to the Covid-19 outbreak.

The 2020 edition saw 2 teams — Lahore Qalandars and Karachi Kings — playing in the final for the first time. Despite a good start from the openers, the Qalandars couldn’t capitalise on that and managed only 134 runs. The target wasn’t stiff for the Kings, and Babar Azam played a captain’s knock to help his team win their maiden trophy.

2021 | Multan Sultans

The 2021 edition was also interrupted due to the Covid-19 restrictions, with half the league staged in Karachi, Pakistan, and the remaining in Abu Dhabi, UAE.

Multan Sultans, which reached their first final, scored 206 runs in 20 overs, thanks to their top-order batters. Their bowlers also complimented well with the batters and restricted Peshawar Zalmi to 159/9, winning their first PSL trophy.

2022 | Lahore Qalandars

The 7th edition of PSL returned to Pakistan, with the previous edition winners, the Multan Sultans, making it to their second successive final.

In a one-sided encounter, Lahore Qalandars came on top of the 2021 champions to lift their maiden title. The Qalandars posted a formidable 180 runs on the scoreboard, and in response, the Sultans tumbled on 138 runs.

2023 | Lahore Qalandars

The 2023 edition was a rematch of the 2022 final, however, this year’s final turned out to be a nail-biter. The Lahore Qalandars scored a massive 200 runs owing to their top 3 batters and a late blazing from captain Shaheen Shah Afridi’s bat (44* off 15).

While chasing the target of 201, the Sultans were well on their way to crushing the total but fell short by 1 run. The Qalandars became the first team to win the PSL in back-to-back years.

2024 | Islamabad United

Multan Sultans made it to the fourth final in a row, while Islamabad United reached the final for the first time after the 2018 PSL victory.

Mohammad Rizwan-led Sultans elected to bat first and mustered 159 runs in 20 overs. With a target of 160 runs in sight, United faced setbacks at crucial points but their batters held their nerves and won the match on the last ball.

Islamabad United got their hands on the PSL trophy for the third time.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *