ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year Award Winners List

What better way than to recognise a cricketer’s solid performance throughout the year by giving them an award? The International Cricket Council (ICC) also went with that thought process and initiated an award for the same purpose.

Since 2004, the ICC has rewarded the players who have performed the best in a particular year with the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy, also known as the ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year.

India’s Rahul Dravid, the Wall, became the first player to win this prestigious trophy in 2004. Since then, many prominent players have claimed the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy.

So, in this article, we’ll look at the year-wise winners of the ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year Award.

ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year Award Winners List | Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy

2004Rahul Dravid (India)
2005Jacques Kallis (South Africa) & Andrew Flintoff (England)
2006Ricky Ponting (Australia)
2007Ricky Ponting (Australia)
2008Shivnarine Chanderpaul (West Indies)
2009Mitchell Johnson (Australia)
2010Sachin Tendulkar (India)
2011Jonathan Trott (England)
2012Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka)
2013Michael Clarke (Australia)
2014Mitchell Johnson (Australia)
2015Steve Smith (Australia)
2016Ravichandran Ashwin (India)
2017Virat Kohli (India)
2018Virat Kohli (India)
2019Ben Stokes (England)
2021Shaheen Afridi (Pakistan)
2022Babar Azam (Pakistan)
2023Pat Cummins (Australia)

Players with the Most ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year Award

Ricky Ponting | 2 Times (2006, 2007)

Australia’s former captain, Ricky Ponting, became the first player to bag the award in back-to-back years. In 2006, Ponting garnered 2164 runs in 35 matches across formats. And this was his third year with 2000+ runs in all formats combined.

The next year, he won the trophy again, with 1800 runs from 37 matches. Moreover, he led his team to the 2007 ODI World Cup victory.

Mitchell Johnson | 2 Times (2009, 2014)

Another Aussie player on the list and he is speedster Mitchell Johnson. He had a remarkable 2009, with a whopping 113 wickets in his kitty. To go along with that, he also had a gritty outing with the bat as he scored 836 runs, including a Test century against South Africa.

Johnson’s bowling was at its peak in 2014, as he scalped 61 wickets across formats. His bowling exploits were well-complimented by his decent batting, as he scored 408 runs.

Virat Kohli | 2 Times (2017, 2018)

The batting maestro from India, Virat Kohli, became the second player to win the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy on the trot.

Kohli was on a roll in 2017 and 2018, as he amassed 2818 and 2735 runs across formats, respectively. In both years, he notched up 11 centuries each, which also included 3 Test double tons, all of which came in 2017.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *