On 24 January 2024, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) released the schedule for the much-awaited WPL 2024. After delivering an exciting inaugural season in 2023, the league is back with its second season.

The defending champions, Mumbai Indians, will take on Delhi Capitals in the opening match scheduled to take place in Bengaluru on February 23. The WPL 2024 will be played across 2 venues — M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru, and Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi.

A total of 5 teams will participate in the league, with each team taking on the other in a double round-robin format. The tournament will see 22 matches, including 2 playoff games.

The first leg of the league will take place in Bengaluru, as the city hosts 11 games. While the second leg will happen in Delhi, which will host the remaining matches, along with the Eliminator and the Final.

After the conclusion of the league stage, attention will move towards the Eliminator which will be played by the No. 2 and No. 3 teams on the points table. The No. 1 team, on the other hand, will directly cruise to the Final, where they will square off against the winner of the Eliminator.

WPL 2024: Schedule, Venue, and Timing

DateMatchVenueTime (IST)
Feb 23Mumbai Indians vs Delhi CapitalsBengaluru7:30 PM
Feb 24Royal Challengers Bangalore vs UP WarriorsBengaluru7:30 PM
Feb 25Gujarat Giants vs Mumbai IndiansBengaluru7:30 PM
Feb 26UP Warriors vs Delhi CapitalsBengaluru7:30 PM
Feb 27Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Gujarat GiantsBengaluru7:30 PM
Feb 28Mumbai Indians vs UP WarriorsBengaluru7:30 PM
Feb 29Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Delhi CapitalsBengaluru7:30 PM
Mar 1UP Warriors vs Gujarat GiantsBengaluru7:30 PM
Mar 2Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Mumbai IndiansBengaluru7:30 PM
Mar 3Gujarat Giants vs Delhi CapitalsBengaluru7:30 PM
Mar 4UP Warriors vs Royal Challengers BangaloreBengaluru7:30 PM
Mar 5Delhi Capitals vs Mumbai IndiansDelhi7:30 PM
Mar 6Gujarat Giants vs Royal Challengers BangaloreDelhi7:30 PM
Mar 7UP Warriors vs Mumbai IndiansDelhi7:30 PM
Mar 8Delhi Capitals vs UP WarriorsDelhi7:30 PM
Mar 9Mumbai Indians vs Gujarat GiantsDelhi7:30 PM
Mar 10Delhi Capitals vs Royal Challengers BangaloreDelhi7:30 PM
Mar 11Gujarat Giants vs UP WarriorsDelhi7:30 PM
Mar 12Mumbai Indians vs Royal Challengers BangaloreDelhi7:30 PM
Mar 13Delhi Capitals vs Gujarat GiantsDelhi7:30 PM
Mar 15Eliminator: No. 2 vs No. 3Delhi7:30 PM
Mar 17Final: No. 1 vs Winner of EliminatorDelhi7:30 PM

WPL 2024: Complete Squads

Delhi Capitals

Meg Lanning (c), Jemimah Rodrigues, Marizanne Kapp, Shafali Verma, Shikha Pandey, Alice Capsey, Arundhati Reddy, Jess Jonassen, Laura Harris, Minnu Mani, Poonam Yadav, Radha Yadav, Sneha Deepthi, Taniyaa Bhatia, Titas Sadhu, Annabel Sutherland, Aparna Mondal, Ashwani Kumari

Gujarat Giants

Beth Mooney (c), Ashleigh Gardner, Sneh Rana, Dayalan Hemalatha, Harleen Deol, Laura Wolvaardt, Shabnam Shakil, Tanuja Kanwer, Phoebe Litchfield, Meghna Singh, Trisha Poojitha, Priya Mishra, Kathryn Bryce, Mannat Kashyap, Veda Krishnamurthy, Tarannum Pathan, Sayali Satghare (replacement for Kashvee Gautam), Lea Tahuhu (replacement for Lauren Cheatle)

Mumbai Indians

Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Hayley Matthews, Natalie Sciver, Amanjot Kaur, Amelia Kerr, Chloe Tryon, Humairaa Kaazi, Isabelle Wong, Jintimani Kalita, Pooja Vastrakar, Priyanka Bala, Saika Ishaque, Yastika Bhatia, Shabnim Ismail, Amandeep Kaur, Sajeevan Sajana, Fatima Jaffer, Keerthana Balakrishnan

Royal Challengers Bangalore

Smriti Mandhana (c), Ellyse Perry, Asha Shobana, Disha Kasat, Indrani Roy, Renuka Singh, Richa Ghosh, Shreyanka Patil, Sophie Devine, Georgia Wareham, Kate Cross, Ekta Bisht, Shubha Satheesh, Sabbhineni Meghana, Simran Bahadur, Sophie Molineux, Shradda Pokharkar (replacement for Kanika Ahuja), Nadine de Klerk (replacement for Heather Knight)

UP Warriorz

Alyssa Healy (c), Tahlia McGrath, Anjali Sarvani, Deepti Sharma, Grace Harris, Kiran Navgire, Laxmi Yadav, Parshavi Chopra, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, S. Yashasri, Shweta Sehrawat, Sophie Ecclestone, Dani Wyatt, Vrinda Dinesh, Saima Thakor, Poonam Khemnar, Gouher Sultana, Chamari Athapaththu (replacement for Lauren Bell)

WPL 2024: Broadcast and Live Stream Details

The second season of WPL will be available to watch on the Sports18 channel on TV. Moreover, JioCinema will also live stream the league on their app and website for free.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *