The ICC ODI World Cup, also known as the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup, is without a doubt the most important event in the cricket world. The International Cricket Council (ICC) organises the event every four years, and it is one of the most watched sporting events on the planet.

The inaugural ODI World Cup was held in England in 1975. Before the World Cup was finally moved out of Europe, England hosted the next two editions as well. India and Pakistan co-hosted the event in 1987. The matches were shortened to 50 overs per inning from 60 overs per inning in this tournament.

Australia and New Zealand shared hosting duties for the competition in 1992. Numerous changes were made to the tournament in this iteration, such as the use of coloured clothing, the use of a white ball rather than a red ball, matches that were played during the day and at night, etc. In 1996, India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka co-hosted the World Cup in the subcontinent.

Three years later, the event was back on English soil, and in 2003, it made its debut in Africa. The competition was then held in the West Indies in 2007, and then in 2011, it was held in India, Sri Lanka, and Bangladesh.

Australia and New Zealand co-hosted the ICC World Cup in 2015 for the second time since 1992. Four years later, England once again served as the tournament’s host after a two-decade absence.

ICC World Cup Winners and Runner-up Lists

YearWinnerRunner Up
1975West IndiesAustralia
1979West IndiesEngland
1983IndiaWest Indies
1996Sri LankaAustralia
2007AustraliaSri Lanka
2011IndiaSri Lanka
2015AustraliaNew Zealand
2019EnglandNew Zealand
ICC Cricket World Cup Winners

1. West Indies Triumph in 1975

The West Indies won the championship, displaying their superiority and talent at the game. At London’s famous Lord’s Cricket Ground, the West Indies upset Australia in a thrilling championship match under the inspirational Clive Lloyd.

West Indies cricket entered a fantastic period after this triumph, and the squad won the competition once more in 1979.

2. West Indies Retain the Crown in 1979

The West Indies won the ICC ODI World Cup for the second time in a row in 1979, maintaining their dominance in international cricket. In the Lord’s final, they defeated England.

The West Indies’ dominant pace attack and batting prowess, under the direction of the legendary Vivian Richards, were crucial to their victory.

Also Read: Why is Cricket in the West Indies on the Decline? – From Stalwarts to Minnows!

3. 1983: India’s Historical Victory

India’s first-ever trophy-lifting during the ICC ODI World Cup’s third iteration was a historic event. In the Lord’s final, the Indian team under Kapil Dev showed bravery and tenacity to defeat the strong West Indies.

This triumph served as a turning point for Indian cricket, motivating a new wave of players and supporters. Cricket fans all across the world will always remember the famous picture of Kapil Dev raising the World Cup.

Also Read: 10 Reasons why Cricket is a Success in India

4. Australia’s First Victory in 1987

Australia won the 1987 ICC ODI World Cup, which was played in the Indian subcontinent. It was their first World Cup victory ever.

Allan Border served as the team’s captain, and the Australians performed admirably overall during the competition. Australia triumphed over England in a fiercely fought final at Kolkata’s famed Eden Gardens, displaying their resiliency and tenacity.

5. Imran Khan Guides Pakistan to Glory in 1992

Pakistan’s ascent to supremacy during the 1992 ICC Cricket World Cup in Australia and New Zealand was seen. Imran Khan, the charismatic captain of the Pakistani team, led them to victory by showcasing their extraordinary talent and never-say-die attitude.

Pakistan won a thrilling championship match against England at the Melbourne Cricket Ground, cementing their place in cricket history.

6. Sri Lanka’s Memorable Victory in 1996

Sri Lanka’s incredible victory at the 1996 ICC ODI World Cup in the Indian subcontinent will live on in infamy.

Under the direction of Aravinda de Silva, Sri Lanka used their superior batting abilities and creative approaches to defeat Australia in the final at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore, Pakistan. With this victory, Sri Lankan cricket experienced a sea of change, emerging as a major player on the world stage.

7. Australia’s Rule Officially Began in 1999

At the turn of the 2000s, Australia began to emerge as the dominant force in international cricket. The Australian squad, captained by the legendary Steve Waugh, won the ODI World Cup for the second time in 1999.

Australia set the bar for their next World Cup campaigns with their poise and methodical approach in a blowout final victory over Pakistan at Lord’s.

8. 2003: Australia Wins a Triple Crown

In 2003, Australia won the ICC Cricket World Cup for the third time in a row, solidifying their position as the undisputed champions.

Under Ricky Ponting’s leadership, the Australian side displayed their imposing talents by resoundingly winning games. Australia defeated India in the championship match at the Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg, South Africa, to take home the trophy.

9. Australia’s Fourth Victory in 2007

Australia won their fourth championship at the 2007 ICC ODI World Cup, which was hosted in the Caribbean.

The Australian team, once again captained by Ricky Ponting, demonstrated their superiority by going undefeated throughout the competition. Australia triumphed in a rain-affected match against Sri Lanka in the final at the Kensington Oval in Barbados, confirming their position as cricket’s top team.

10. 2011: India’s Home Victory

Indian cricket fans will always have a special place in their hearts for the 2011 ICC ODI World Cup. The winning team in the competition, which took place in India, was MS Dhoni’s squad.

India chased down a difficult target to defeat Sri Lanka in an exciting final at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai, setting up jubilation across the country.

11. Australia’s Fifth Crown in 2015

2015 saw Australia win the ICC ODI World Cup for the fifth time, reiterating their supremacy.

The Australian team put on some incredible performances during the competition, which Australia and New Zealand jointly hosted. Australia triumphed against New Zealand in a high-scoring final at the Melbourne Cricket Ground, displaying their strength and talent.

12. 2019 Marks England’s First Victory

England’s win in the 2019 ICC ODI World Cup marked a momentous occasion as it won the tournament for the first time.

In a nail-biting final versus New Zealand at Lord’s, England prevailed based on boundary count following a drawn match and subsequent tied Super Over. Celebrations were sparked all over the nation as this triumph opened a new chapter in English cricket.

Final Thought

The ICC ODI World Cup winners list highlights the growth of cricketing nations, the evolution of the game, and key occasions that have left their marks on the sport’s past.

Each triumph is the product of perseverance, commitment, and the pursuit of excellence. As fans of cricket, we eagerly anticipate the 2023 ICC ODI World Cup scheduled in India, where new chapters will be written and this illustrious tournament’s heritage will continue to expand.

Read Next: Player of the Tournament Winners in Every ODI World Cup