In a historic event, India is all set to host Afghanistan for a 3-match T20I series starting on January 11, 2024. This is going to be the first bilateral white-ball series between India and Afghanistan.

The India vs Afghanistan T20I series will also be India’s first series at home in 2024. This series will be important for both teams, keeping in mind the upcoming 2024 T20 World Cup.

Speaking of this series, both teams will engage in 3 T20Is over 7 days. The first of the 3 T20Is will take place in Mohali’s IS Bindra Stadium on January 11.

The second T20I match will be played in Indore on January 14, while Bangalore will host the last game on January 17.

India vs Afghanistan T20I Series 2024: Full Schedule, Venues, and Timing

DateMatchVenueTime (IST)
Jan 111st T20IMohali7:00 PM
Jan 142nd T20IIndore7:00 PM
Jan 173rd T20IBangalore7:00 PM

India and Afghanistan Squads

Captain Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli are back in the T20I squad after a gap of more than a year. This means that both players are available for selection in the 2024 T20 World Cup squad. Apart from that, Sanju Samson and Shivam Dube have been recalled to the squad.

India Squad for Afghanistan Series: Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar

Afghanistan have announced a spin-heavy bowling attack for the India tour. Mujeeb Ur Rahman, who was not part of the UAE T20I series, finds his name in the squad. Rashid Khan has been named in the squad, but he won’t be able to play as he is still recovering from his surgery. In his absence, Ibrahim Zadran will lead Afghanistan in this series.

Afghanistan Squad for India Series: Ibrahim Zadran (c), Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Ikram Alikhil (wk), Hazratullah Zazai, Rahmat Shah, Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Nabi, Karim Janat, Azmaullah Omarzai, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Fazal Haq Farooqi, Fareed Ahmad, Naveen-ul-Haq, Noor Ahmad, Mohammad Saleem, Qais Ahmad, Gulbadin Naib and Rashid Khan

India vs Afghanistan T20I Series 2024: Broadcasting and Live Streaming

The T20I series between India and Afghanistan will be broadcast live by Sports 18 on TV. Cricket fans can also live stream the series on Jio Cinema’s app and website.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *