Player of the Tournament in Every T20 World Cup Edition

Every player has a dream of representing their team at the highest level in cricket. And there’s nothing bigger than a World Cup.

The game’s shortest format, T20I cricket, has its own World Cup staged every 2 years. Players set their eyes to perform consistently in the tournament, helping their side win crucial games.

Over the years, a lot of players have shown their skills either with the bat or ball, leaving an indelible mark on the T20 World Cup. However, a few of them were standout performers in a particular edition, earning accolades from fans and experts alike.

Such players have been rewarded with the Player of the Tournament awards in the T20 tournament. Here we’ll list the players who have won the Player of the Tournament award in every edition of the T20 World Cup.

Player of the Tournament Award Winners in T20 World Cup

2007Shahid AfridiPakistan
2009Tillakaratne DilshanSri Lanka
2010Kevin PietersenEngland
2012Shane WatsonAustralia
2014Virat KohliIndia
2016Virat KohliIndia
2021David WarnerAustralia
2022Sam CurranEngland

2007 | Shahid Afridi

Pakistan’s former all-rounder Shahid Afridi became the first player to win the Player of the Tournament award in the T20 World Cup. He picked up the second-most wickets for Pakistan, with 12 to his name in 7 games. He also chipped in with the bat, scoring 91 runs.

2009 | Tillakaratne Dilshan

Tillakaratne Dilshan was the leading run-scorer in the 2009 T20 World Cup. The Sri Lankan batter amassed 317 runs at an average of 52.83 and a strike rate of 144.74 to bag the Player of the Tournament award.

2010 | Kevin Pietersen

Kevin Pietersen played a crucial role in England’s maiden T20 World Cup triumph. The England batter accumulated 248 runs at an impeccable average of 62, including 2 fifties.

2012 | Shane Watson

Shane Watson put on an incredible all-round performance in the 2012 edition. The former Australian all-rounder was the leading run-scorer and second-highest wicket-taker, earning the much-deserved Player of the Tournament reward. He scored 249 runs and picked up 11 wickets in 6 matches.

2014 | Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli had an outstanding run in the 2014 T20 World Cup. The Indian run machine accumulated 319 runs at a mind-blowing average of 106.33, including 4 half-centuries.

Also Read | The Remarkable Journey of Virat Kohli to Success

2016 | Virat Kohli

Kohli continued his form in 2016 from where he left off in 2014. He put on some memorable performances with the bat, scoring 273 runs at a staggering average of 136.50 and a healthy strike rate of 146.77. With that, Kohli became the first player to win the Player of the Tournament award in consecutive editions.

2021 | David Warner

David Warner was the catalyst in Australia’s title-winning 2021 edition. The southpaw batter amassed 289 runs at an average of 48.16 and a strike rate of 146.70 in 7 games.

2022 | Sam Curran

Sam Curran was a cog in England’s second T20 World Cup victory in 2022. The left-hander dictated terms with the ball, scalping 13 wickets at an average of 11.38 in 6 matches, including a fifer against Afghanistan. He also produced a match-winning performance of 3 for 12 in the final against Pakistan.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *