IPL Most Valuable Player Award Winners Every Season

The Indian Premier League (IPL) has seen a plethora of players ply their trades in the high-octane tournament. However, a handful of players have left their mark by creating a huge impact for their respective teams.

To reward the impactful performances of such players, the IPL acknowledges them with the Most Valuable Player of the Season award. Every player is allotted some points for their performance, and the one with the most points stands a chance to win the MVP award.

Players don’t get any points for scoring runs. However, they can accumulate 3.5 points for smashing a six and taking a wicket, 2.5 points for every four, catch, and stumping, and a point for every dot ball they bowl.

A few players have exhibited their skills to the fullest and claimed the MVP award. Here, in this article, we’ll list the Most Valuable Player award winners in every IPL season.

IPL Most Valuable Player of the Season Award Winners

2008Shane WatsonRajasthan Royals
2009Adam GilchristDeccan Chargers
2010Sachin TendulkarMumbai Indians
2011Chris GayleRoyal Challengers Bangalore
2012Sunil NarineKolkata Knight Riders
2013Shane WatsonRajasthan Royals
2014Glenn MaxwellPunjab Kings
2015Andre RussellKolkata Knight Riders
2016Virat KohliRoyal Challengers Bangalore
2017Ben StokesRising Pune Supergiant
2018Sunil NarineKolkata Knight Riders
2019Andre RussellKolkata Knight Riders
2020Jofra ArcherRajasthan Royals
2021Harshal PatelRoyal Challengers Bangalore
2022Jos ButtlerRajasthan Royals
2023Shubman GillGujarat Titans
2024Sunil NarineKolkata Knight Riders

2008 | Shane Watson

Shane Watson was the cog in the wheel of the Rajasthan Royals title-winning inaugural season. The Australian all-rounder scored 472 runs, took 17 wickets, and grabbed 2 catches to claim the Player of the Tournament award.

2009 | Adam Gilchrist

Adam Gilchrist led the Deccan Chargers from the front to clinch the IPL title in 2009. The keeper-batter accumulated 495 runs, took 10 catches, and affected 8 stumpings. 

2010 | Sachin Tendulkar

Sachin Tendulkar became the first Indian player to win the Player of the Tournament award in the IPL. The Master Blasted had a remarkable season, scoring 618 runs and taking 3 catches in 15 matches. Tendulkar also won the Orange Cap for being the leading run-scorer of the season.

Also Read | 5 Reasons Why Sachin Tendulkar is the GOAT

2011 | Chris Gayle

The mighty Chris Gayle came in as a replacement in the Royal Challengers Bangalore squad. But he made sure to make the most of it, amassing 608 runs, picking up 8 wickets, and taking 2 catches in 12 matches.

2012 | Sunil Narine

Sunil Narine’s spin magic powered the Kolkata Knight Riders to their maiden IPL triumph in 2012. The Caribbean spinner nabbed 24 wickets at an average of 13.50 in 15 matches.

2013 | Shane Watson

In 2013, the IPL renamed the Player of the Tournament award as the Most Valuable Player (MVP) of the Season award.

Shane Watson again clinched the Player of the Tournament award in 2013, making him the first player to win it twice in the IPL. Watto accumulated 543 runs, took 13 wickets, and pouched 6 catches in 16 matches.

2014 | Glenn Maxwell

Glenn Maxwell was a driving force behind the Kings XI Punjab’s breakout season in 2014, helping them reach the final. The Australian all-rounder scored 552 runs, pocketed 9 catches, and took a wicket in 16 games.

2015 | Andre Russell

Andre Russell had a resounding outing in the 2015 season, claiming his maiden MVP award. The West Indies all-rounder amassed 326 runs, picked up 14 wickets, and grabbed 6 catches.

2016 | Virat Kohli

2016 was an exceptional season for Virat Kohli as he unleashed his beast. King Kohli accumulated a staggering tally of 973 runs, the most by a batter in an IPL season, including 4 centuries.

Also Read | 4 Fascinating Records Held by Virat Kohli in IPL

2017 | Ben Stokes

Ben Stokes made his IPL debut in 2017 and made it a memorable one. He represented the Rising Pune Supergiants in 12 matches, scoring 316 runs, taking 12 wickets, and plucking 5 catches.

2018 | Sunil Narine

Sunil Narine became the second player to win the MVP award twice. This time, he displayed his all-round abilities to the fullest, scoring 357 runs with the bat and dismissing 17 batters with the ball.

2019 | Andre Russell

Andre Russell followed in the footsteps of Narine to clinch the MVP award for the second time in 2019. His batting exploits were superb, accumulating 510 runs, to go along with his bowling (11 wickets) and fielding efforts (4 catches).

2020 | Jofra Archer

England’s Jofra Archer had an outstanding 2020 season for the Rajasthan Royals. The pacer scalped 20 wickets, scored a handy 113 runs coming down the order, and held onto 5 catches.

2021 | Harshal Patel

Harshal Patel ruled the roost in the 2021 IPL season, winning the Purple Cap as well as the MVP award. The pacer picked up a record-equalling 32 wickets in 15 matches, along with scoring 59 runs and taking 3 catches.

2022 | Jos Buttler

Jos Buttler had an astounding run in the 2022 edition, taking the Rajasthan Royals to the final. The English batter amassed 863 runs and grabbed 9 catches in 17 matches.

2023 | Shubman Gill

Shubman Gill was in a purple patch in 2023, and he carried the form into the IPL as well. The young opening batter scored 890 runs and pocketed 6 catches while playing for the Gujarat Titans in 17 matches.

2024 | Sunil Narine

Sunil Narine became the first cricketer to win the Most Valuable Player of the Season award 3 times in the IPL. The Caribbean player had a breakout season, contributing significantly in all departments.

Narine was the key player behind KKR’s successful title run, scoring 488 runs, picking up 17 wickets, and grabbing 3 catches.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *