WPL Orange Cap Winners List from 2023 to Date

WPL, the women’s version of the IPL, has adopted a lot of things from the IPL, starting from having some similar teams to awarding the highest run-scorers with the Orange Cap.

The batters who put in consistent performances throughout the season and emerge as the highest run-scorers get the chance to don the Orange Cap.

The WPL boasts some of the best women batters who have unleashed their batting skills, accumulating heaps of runs match after match. These talented batters are always in the hunt to top the run charts and get their hands on the coveted Orange Cap.

This article will list the Orange Cap-winning batters in the WPL.

WPL Orange Cap Winners List

2023Meg Lanning345DC
2024Ellyse Perry347RCB

Meg Lanning (Delhi Capitals) | 2023

There’s one common thing between the inaugural seasons of both the IPL and the WPL. Both times, an Australian player claimed the Orange Cap at the end of the season.

In the 2008 IPL, it was Shaun Marsh, and in the 2023 WPL, it was the Aussie batting stalwart, Meg Lanning. The former Australian skipper lit up the first season with her ferocious batting display.

Leading the Delhi Capitals (DC), Lanning scored 345 runs in 9 innings at an impeccable average of 49.28 and a strike rate of 139.11. Her batting exploits took DC into the inaugural final against the Mumbai Indians.

Ellyse Perry (Royal Challengers Bangalore) | 2024

The second season of WPL saw another Australian claim the coveted Orange Cap. Ellyse Perry was in good touch throughout the season, which ultimately materialised in a title victory for RCB.

The all-rounder amassed 347 runs at an astounding average of 69.40 and a decent strike rate of 125.72. Perry stepped up when it mattered the most, smashing 2 fifties.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *