As the summer in India starts to peak, the Indian Premier League (IPL) takes centre stage in the cricketing world. And with that, fans get to witness some blazing-hot performances from batters.

It’s no surprise that batters dominate most of the IPL games with their power-packed batting knocks. Over the years, the incredible league has seen batters carry their teams over the ropes with their blistering knocks.

Many batters continue their momentum and accumulate loads of runs throughout a season. To honour the highest run scorer of the season, the IPL rewards the batter with the Orange Cap.

In this article, we’ll list the batters who have won the IPL Orange Cap from 2008 to date.

IPL Orange Cap Winners List

2008Shaun Marsh616KXIP
2009Matthew Hayden572CSK
2010Sachin Tendulkar618MI
2011Chris Gayle608RCB
2012Chris Gayle733RCB
2013Michael Hussey733CSK
2014Robin Uthappa660KKR
2015David Warner562SRH
2016Virat Kohli973RCB
2017David Warner641SRH
2018Kane Williamson735SRH
2019David Warner692SRH
2020KL Rahul670KXIP
2021Ruturaj Gaikwad635CSK
2022Jos Buttler 863RR
2023Shubman Gill890GT

Shaun Marsh (Kings XI Punjab) | 2008

A young Shaun Marsh, who was yet to make his international debut, went on to score 616 runs in 11 innings. Moreover, he slammed a hundred and 5 fifties after missing some initial games. Marsh’s batting exploits for the Kings XI Punjab in the inaugural season made him the first player to win the Orange Cap.

Matthew Hayden (Chennai Super Kings) | 2009

After a young Australian lit up the inaugural season, it was now the turn of a veteran Aussie to show everyone that age doesn’t matter. Matthew Hayden displayed his penchant for run-scoring in the second season, which took place in South Africa. Haydos garnered 572 runs for CSK in 12 outings and bagged the Orange Cap in 2009.

Sachin Tendulkar (Mumbai Indians) | 2010

Sachin Tendulkar, the stalwart of the game, dominated the third IPL season by donning the blue jersey, albeit for his home city. The Master Blaster amassed 618 runs in 15 games to clinch the Orange Cap in 2010.

Also Read | List of Indian Cricketers Inducted in the ICC Hall of Fame

Chris Gayle (Royal Challengers Banglore) | 2011

The IPL is incomplete without the mighty Christopher Henry Gayle! The Caribbean player has carved himself a place in this league’s history with his thunderous batting. 2011 was one chapter of that when he accumulated 608 runs in 12 innings for RCB to wear the Orange Cap.

Chris Gayle (Royal Challengers Banglore) | 2012

In the fifth season, Gayle took everyone by storm as he picked it up from where he left off in 2011. His swashbuckling earned him the Orange Cap in back-to-back seasons. In 2012, Gayle tore apart record books by collecting 733 runs in 14 innings under his belt.

Michael Hussey (Chennai Super Kings) | 2013

After Gayle’s heroics in the previous season, Michael Hussey equalled the Windies batters record tally of 733 runs in 17 innings while representing CSK. Hussey showed his class throughout the 2013 season to get his hand over the esteemed Orange Cap.

Robin Uthappa (Kolkata Knight Riders) | 2014

The seventh season saw Robin Uthappa claim the Orange Cap, making him only the second Indian player to get the honour. Moreover, his tally of 660 runs in 14 matches helped KKR lift their second IPL trophy.

David Warner (Sunrisers Hyderabad) | 2015

Australian players have been the charm of the IPL, as proved by the explosive opener David Warner. The Southpaw became the fourth Australian to score the most runs in an IPL season. Warner led SRH from the front by amassing 562 runs in 14 matches at a strike rate of 156.54.

Virat Kohli (Royal Challengers Bangalore) | 2016

Virat Kohli, the poster boy of Indian cricket, left everyone stunned with his remarkable outing in the 2016 IPL. Throughout the season, Kohli’s bat did the talking, helping him garner a record-breaking 973 runs — the most runs by a player in a season. That outrageous performance took his side to the final, but he had to settle with the Orange Cap.

Also Read | What is Virat Kohli’s Net Worth?

David Warner (Sunrisers Hyderabad) | 2017

After a tussle between Virat and Warner for Orange Cap in 2016, the latter delivered a striking performance in 2017. Warner accumulated 641 runs in 14 matches to end up as the top scorer for the second time.

Kane Williamson (Sunrisers Hyderabad) | 2018

Yet another Hyderabad player topped the run charts while leading the team in the league. This time, cool-headed Kane Williamson, who was at the helm of SRH, scored 735 runs in 17 games to take his team to the summit clash.

David Warner (Sunrisers Hyderabad) | 2019

After the 2018 IPL suspension, Warner was looking for redemption, and he exactly did that in the 2019 season. The Australian opener was on a roll in the 12th season as he garnered 692 runs in 12 matches to win his third Orange Cap.

KL Rahul (Kings XI Punjab) | 2020

The 2020 season witnessed Punjab’s newly appointed skipper, KL Rahul, make noise with his bat. Rahul mustered 670 runs in 14 matches, including a stellar century, which helped him win the Orange Cap in 2020.

Ruturaj Gaikwad (Chennai Super Kings) | 2021

After the dominance of experienced cricketers, it was now time for a youngster to leave his mark on the run chart. Ruturaj Gaikwad earned accolades for his brilliant performance with the bat in 2021. In the Covid-infested season, he scored 635 runs in 16 games, which led to CSK winning the 2021 IPL.

Jos Buttler (Rajasthan Royals) | 2022

Over the years, a few notable English players have left an indelible mark in the league’s history. One of them is Jos Buttler, who had a terrific season in 2022 while playing for the Rajasthan Royals. The keeper-batter top-scored in 2022 with 863 runs in 17 innings, including his 4 classy hundreds.

Shubman Gill (Gujarat Titans) | 2023

The new batting sensation from India, Shubman Gill, had a stellar run in the 2023 IPL for the Gujarat Titans. The young opening batter notched up 890 runs in 17 matches to win the Orange Cap. Moreover, he lit up the stage with his 4 magnificent centuries.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *