Cricket’s global body, the International Cricket Council (ICC), is the caretaker of the gentleman’s game at the international level. The ICC looks after most of the cricket matches that happen around the world, though they are not directly involved in most of the games.

But you must have seen the ICC organise some prestigious cricket tournaments every now and then. In this article, let’s take a look at some of the most important cricket tournaments organised by the ICC.

Men’s Tournaments

ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup (CWC)

The ICC Cricket World Cup is the pinnacle event in the global cricketing calendar. The Cricket World Cup has been organised since 1975, with Australia being the most successful team in the tournament’s history.

The tournament takes place every 4 years and is based on the ODI format. Over the years, the ODI World Cup has produced some memorable moments and has a special place in the hearts of cricket fans.

ICC Champions Trophy (CT)

The ICC Champions Trophy is similar to that of the Cricket World Cup, and you can refer to it as a mini-World Cup. The only difference is that only the top 8 teams in the world compete in this tournament. 

Initially, the tournament’s purpose was to support the non-Test playing teams; however, with time, the tournament focused on the participation of top teams. The Champions Trophy was scrapped in 2017, but the ICC has revived it, with Pakistan slated to host the Champions Trophy in 2025.

Also Read | ICC Champions Trophy 2025: Qualification Process and Format

ICC World Test Championship (WTC)

The World Test Championship is a relatively new competition in men’s international cricket. The competition involves 9 Test-playing nations — India, Australia, England, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, the West Indies, Sri Lanka, and Bangladesh — participating in 6 bilateral Test series.

Unlike other ICC tournaments, the WTC is spread across 2 years, with the top 2 teams in the points table playing in the final. The inception of the WTC has revived the interest of cricket fans in Test cricket.

Also Read | What is PCT in World Test Championship?

ICC T20 World Cup

Another ICC tournament started in the 21st century and has garnered an unwavering fan following from around the world. The ICC inaugurated the T20 World Cup in 2007, with India lifting the trophy.

Since then, the shorter format of the game has grown manifold and has helped take the game to every corner of the world. The T20 World Cup is organised every 2 years, with top teams competing to get their hands on the trophy.

ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup

The first edition of the U-19 World Cup was held in 1988 in Australia, although it was known as the Youth Cricket World Cup. After its inaugural edition, the tournament wasn’t held until 1998, with the competition organised every 2 years after that.

Over the years, the U-19 World Cup has witnessed some enthralling performances from young cricketers. Many have even gone on to represent their teams at the international level, with Virat Kohli being the prime example.

Women’s Tournament

ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup

The Women’s World Cup is the oldest cricket competition, with its first edition held in 1973, two years before the Men’s Cricket World Cup. The event was initially organised by the International Women’s Cricket Council (IWCC) until 2005 when the IWCC was merged with the ICC.

Since then, the tournament has been held every 4 years in ODI format. Like their men’s counterparts, Australia’s women’s team is the most successful side in the Women’s World Cup history.

Also Read | What is the ICC Women’s Championship?

ICC Women’s T20 World Cup

After the inaugural men’s T20 World Cup in 2007, the ICC kicked off a similar event for women’s teams in 2009. The Women’s T20 World Cup is organised every 2 years, and Australia also dominates in the shorter format competition with the most trophies.

This tournament has helped popularise women’s cricket among the masses, with recent editions breaking records in terms of global viewership.

ICC Under-19 Women’s T20 World Cup

To further boost women’s participation in the sport at a younger age, the ICC came up with the U-19 Women’s T20 World Cup. The tournament was inaugurated in 2023, with India’s Under-19 team winning the cup. The tournament is slated to be organised every 2 years.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *