The Asian Games 2023 will kick off on September 23, 2023, in Hangzhou, China. The event will run until October 8, 2023.

A total of 40 sports are part of the Asian Games 2023, including cricket. And India will be sending both men’s and women’s cricket teams to participate in the prestigious tournament.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the squads of both the men’s and women’s teams. Following that, the schedule for the cricket event was also announced by the Asian Games authorities.

But before we take a look at the squads, let’s see when cricket was first played at the Asian Games.

Cricket in Previous Asian Games Editions

Now this is not the first time that cricket has been part of the Asian Games. Cricket will return to the 19th Asian Games after a gap of nine years.

Cricket featured in the Asian Games twice — first at Guangzhou 2010 and second at Incheon 2014. 

In the 2010 Asian Games men’s event, Bangladesh won the gold medal by defeating Afghanistan in the final match. Meanwhile, Pakistan clinched bronze by defeating Sri Lanka.

In the women’s event, Pakistan won the gold medal by defeating Bangladesh, while Japan took the bronze medal.

At the 2014 Incheon Games, Sri Lanka finished first on the podium, bagging a gold medal. Afghanistan and Bangladesh won silver and bronze medals, respectively, in the men’s event.

While in the women’s event, Pakistan won the gold medal for the second time, with Bangladesh and Sri Lanka winning silver and bronze, respectively.

Now it will be interesting to see if the Indian cricket teams can manage to grab medals for the first time.

Cricket Format at Asian Games 2023

Like the previous editions, all the cricket matches will be played in the T20I format at the Asian Games 2023. 

A total of 18 men’s teams will participate in the cricket event, while 14 women’s teams will feature in the tournament. 

The men’s cricket event will see 18 matches, while the women’s cricket tournament will see 14 matches. 

The top 4 ranked Asian teams in the ICC T20I ranking will directly play in the Quarterfinals. Meanwhile, other teams will fight it out in Round 1 to reach the Quarterfinals.

Then the winners of the Quarterfinals will play in the Semifinals. The winners of the Semifinals will play in the Final for the gold medal, while the losers will play in the bronze medal match.

Indian Men’s and Women’s Squads for Asian Games 2023

The BCCI will send a second-string men’s team to the event, as the senior team will be playing in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 in India. Ruturaj Gaikwad will lead a young Indian team in the Asian Games 2023.

On the other hand, the board will send the senior women’s team to participate in the tournament. Harmanpreet Kaur will lead the women’s team, with some new faces making the team.

India Men’s Squad:

Ruturaj Gaikwad (Captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Rahul Tripathi, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wk),  Prabhsimran Singh (wk), Washington Sundar, Shivam Dube, Shahbaz Ahmed, Ravi Bishnoi, Mukesh Kumar, Shivam Mavi, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh 

Standby players: Sai Kishore, Deepak Hooda, Sai Sudarsan, Yash Thakur, Venkatesh Iyer

India Women’s Squad:

Harmanpreet Kaur (C), Smriti Mandhana (VC), Shafali Verma, Jemimah Rodrigues, Deepti Sharma, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Richa Ghosh (wk), Uma Chetry (wk), Anusha Bareddy, Amanjot Kaur, Devika Vaidya, Anjali Sarvani, Titas Sadhu, Minnu Mani, Kanika Ahuja

Standby players: Sneh Rana, Harleen Deol, Pooja Vastrakar, Saika Ishaque, Kashvee Gautam

Asian Games 2023: Cricket Schedule

The women’s cricket tournament will take place between September 19 and September 26. And the men’s cricket event will be played between September 28 and October 7. 

All the matches are scheduled to take place at the Zhejiang University of Technology Pingfeng Cricket Field.

Women’s Schedule

DateMatch No.SessionMatchPhaseTime (Local)
Sep 191CKT019th-14thRound 109:30
Sep 192CKT028th-13thRound 114:30
Sep 203CKT037th-10thRound 109:30
Sep 204CKT046th-11thRound 114:30
Sep 215CKT055th-12thRound 109:30
Sep 216CKT06Winner of Match 1 vs Winner of Match 2Winner of Match 1 vs Winner of Match 214:30
Sep 227CKT071st vs Winner of Match 6QF109:30
Sep 228CKT082nd vs Winner of Match 3QF214:30
Sep 249CKT093rd vs Winner of Match 4QF209:30
Sep 2410CKT104th vs Winner of Match 5QF214:30
Sep 2511CKT11Winner of QF1 vs QF2SF109:30
Sep 2512CKT12Winner of QF3 vs QF4SF214:30
Sep 2613CKT13Loser of SF1 vs SF23/409:30
Sep 2614CKT14Winner of SF1 vs SF2Final14:30

Men’s Schedule

DateMatch No.SessionMatchPhaseTime (Local)
Sep 281CKT159th-14thRound 109:30
Sep 282CKT168th-15thRound 114:30
Sep 293CKT1710th-13thRound 109:30
Sep 294CKT187th-16thRound 114:30
Sep 305CKT1911th-12thRound 109:30
Sep 306CKT206th-17thRound 114:30
Oct 17CKT215th-18thRound 109:30
Oct 18CKT22Winner of Match 1 vs Winner of Match 2Round 114:30
Oct 29CKT23Winner of Match 3 vs Winner of Match 4Round 109:30
Oct 210CKT24Winner of Match 5 vs Winner of Match 6Round 114:30
Oct 411CKT252nd vs Winner of Match 8QF109:30
Oct 412CKT263rd vs Winner of Match 9QF214:30
Oct 513CKT274th vs Winner of Match 10QF309:30
Oct 514CKT281st vs Winner of Match 7QF414:30
Oct 615CKT29Winner of M11 vs M12SF109:30
Oct 616CKT30Winner of M13 vs M14SF214:30
Oct 717CKT31Loser of SF1 vs SF23/409:30
Oct 718CKT32Winner of SF1 vs SF2Final14:30

Asian Games 2023 Broadcast and Live Streaming

Indian fans can enjoy the live broadcast on Sony Sports Network’s TV channels. Moreover, the broadcaster will also live stream the games on its app, Sony Liv.

Read Next: India’s World Test Championship (WTC) 2023-25 Schedule


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *