Australia will look to defend their World Test Championship (WTC) title in the WTC 2023-25 schedule, starting with the England series.

The defending champions are set to play against six Test nations in home and away format over the next two years.

This article delves into Australia’s WTC 2023-2025 schedule.

Australia’s Performance in WTC 2021-23

Australia was hands down the best team throughout the tournament, as they topped the WTC points table. Out of the six Test series, they only lost one against India, but Australia overpowered India in the WTC 21-23 final to lift the prestigious Mace.

The Australian team played a total of 19 Test matches over the course of the championship. They registered wins in 11 matches, losses in 3, and 5 draws.

Moreover, Australia defeated England by 4-0 (5), South Africa by 2-0 (3), and the West Indies by 2-0 (2) at home. While in the away series, they thrashed Pakistan by 1-0 (3), lost against India by 1-2 (4), and managed to draw the series against Sri Lanka by 1-1 (2).

After their tremendous performance, they finished in the first spot on the points table. And later went on to win the WTC final by a huge margin.

Australia WTC Schedule 2023-25

Home Series

1. Australia vs Pakistan – Benaud-Qadir Trophy

Australia will host Pakistan for a 3-match Test series in the summer. The 3 matches also include the Boxing Day Test and the New Year’s Test. This series will take place between December 2023 and January 2024.

Also Read: Pakistan World Test Championship (WTC) 2023-25 Schedule

2. Australia vs West Indies – Frank Worrell Trophy

After the Pakistan series, Australia will face the West Indies in a 2-match Test series. The series will begin in January 2024.

Also Read: West Indies’ World Test Championship (WTC) 2023-25 Schedule

3. Australia vs India – Border-Gavaskar Trophy (BGT)

Australia will square off against India in the summer of 2024-25. Both teams will play in the 5-match BGT series between December 2024 and January 2025.

Also Read: India’s World Test Championship (WTC) 2023-25 Schedule

Away Series

1. England vs Australia – The Ashes

Australia will begin their WTC 2023-24 cycle by playing against archrival England in the Ashes. This blockbuster series features 5 Test matches scheduled between June and July 2023.

Also Read: England World Test Championship (WTC) 2023-25 Schedule

2. New Zealand vs Australia – Trans-Tasman Trophy

Australia will fly to New Zealand for the first time in eight years to play a Test series. The Trans-Tasman rivals will battle it out in a 2-match Test series. This series is scheduled between February and March 2024.

Also Read: New Zealand World Test Championship (WTC) 2023-25 Schedule

3. Sri Lanka vs Australia – Warne-Muralitharan Trophy

Australia will land in Sri Lanka to play their last Test series of the WTC 23-25 schedule. Both teams will play a 2-match Test series between January and February 2025.

Read Next: Sri Lanka World Test Championship (WTC) 2023-25 Schedule

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *