The Indian Premier League (IPL) is known for its hard-hitting batting performances, where top-notch players from across the globe come together to show their talent. 

In this fast-paced T20 tournament, batsmen have the superpower to control the emotions of the audience. Numerous batters can turn the tide of a game single-handedly with their wonderful batting efforts. 

This article will take you to the 10 best batting performances in the IPL.

Brendon McCullum (KKR) | 158* vs RCB, 2008

New Zealand’s opening batter, Brendon McCullum, was known for his quick scoring in the IPL. He left a memorable mark as a New Zealander in this league. 

One of his greatest knocks came during the IPL’s first-ever match against Royal Challengers Bangalore at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium.

Partnering with Sourav Ganguly, McCullum constructed his innings brilliantly. The opening batter didn’t lose momentum even after Sourav’s dismissal. 

The New Zealand batter continued his attack and scored a total of 158*, including 13 sixes and 10 fours. With this outstanding performance, McCullum registered the record for the highest individual score in IPL history at that time.

Yusuf Pathan (RR) | 100 vs MI, 2010

The third season of the Indian Premier League was the best season for Yusuf Pathan. And his century at Brabourne Stadium that year was full of thrilling batting display. 

Yusuf came to bat in a difficult situation when Rajasthan Royals were struggling at 66 for 4 while chasing 213. But the all-rounder made his intention clear when he hit back-to-back 3 sixes in the 11th over. 

Looking at all dimensions of the ground, he picked his favourite spot and played accordingly. Yusuf made his century in just 37 balls, which consisted of 8 sixes and 9 fours. 

Though he ran out exactly after completing his hundred, he got RR close to the target. Despite Yusuf’s valiant effort, MI won the match by 4 runs. But in the end, Yusuf’s heroic performance made him Man of the Match of that night.

Rohit Sharma (MI) | 109* vs KKR, 2012

IPL 2012 was a breakthrough season for Mumbai Indians’ Rohit Sharma. The middle-order batter delivered his personal best at that time. 

Ro-Hitman has played numerous impactful knocks in the IPL, but his century against Kolkata Knight Riders stands apart. This match was played at KKR’s home ground, Eden Gardens.

In an inning where the most popular batter failed to cross the 30-run mark, he played a blockbuster inning, scoring 109* off 52, consisting of his 12 fours and 5 sixes. Because of Rohit’s contribution, MI pushed the final score to 182/1.

Also Read | Five Reasons that make Rohit Sharma a Special Batsman

Chris Gayle (RCB) | 175* vs PW, 2013

Christopher Henry Gayle is renowned as the ‘Universe Boss’ in the cricket world. Gayle’s outstanding batting made him the Orange Cap holder twice in the IPL

His greatest innings came during his unbeaten knock against Pune Warriors at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru.

The opening batter engaged the entire audience in the Chinnaswamy by hitting long boundaries. On the other hand, Pune’s bowlers were scared by Gayle’s hard-hitting batting. He smashed the ball outside the ground 17 times for sixes and 13 times for fours with his bat.

The Windies batter accomplished his century in just 30 balls, registering the record for scoring the fastest hundred in  IPL history ever. His 175* is not only the highest individual score in IPL history but also in T20 cricket history.

Corey Anderson (MI) | 95* vs RR, 2014

The New Zealand cricketer, Corey Anderson, had been in the form of his life across formats in 2014. The all-rounder delivered one of his match-winning knocks during the game against Rajasthan Royals at Wankhede Stadium.

In that game, MI was chasing the target of 190. Mumbai was 1 down for 19 runs and then Anderson came on the crease. The MI batter used to fail while converting his knocks into big scores, but on that day he unlocked his full potential and scored his personal best.

Anderson delivered a total of 95* off 44, including 6 sixes and 9 fours. Anderson’s contribution not only helped MI reach the target but also helped them qualify for the playoffs.

Shane Watson (CSK) | 117* vs SRH, 2018

After being banned for two years, Chennai Super Kings made a great comeback by reaching the finals of the 2018 IPL. The final was played at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

CSK was chasing the target of 179 set by Sunrisers Hyderabad. During that time, the opening batter, Shane Watson, played his great unbeaten knock.

Watson started with orthodox shots all around the ground. He constructed his innings in such a way that he reached his half-century off 33.

Watson scored a total of 117* off 57 balls, including 11 fours and 8 sixes. And once again, CSK registered the IPL title successfully in their name.

Sanju Samson (RR) | 119 vs PBKS, 2021

Sanju Samson is the best middle-order batter, known as a fast-run scorer. The 2021 IPL season was an incredible one for him. 

The batter has played various match-winning knocks for Rajasthan Royals. But his greatest knock came while playing against Punjab Kings at Wankhede Stadium. 

During the match, he let his bat do the talking, hitting the boundaries all around the ground. He completed his half-century in 33 balls and his century in just 54 balls. 

Sanju’s worst luck dismissed him at 119, which consisted of 12 fours and 6 sixes. Sadly, RR lost to PBKS, but because of Sanju’s excellent performance, he won the Man of the Match title.

 Jos Buttler (RR) | 106* vs RCB, 2022

This was the Qualifier 2 match played in Ahmedabad. Rajasthan Royals (RR) won the toss and chose to field first. Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) put up 157/8 on the board.

Now, RR needed 158 off 20 overs to win the match. Yashasvi Jaiswal and Jos Buttler opened the match.

Jaiswal lost his wicket after scoring 21 runs. But that didn’t stop Buttler from scoring at a faster pace, and he reached his half-century in 23 balls. He continued his rampage and hammered his century in 59 balls.

Buttler scored a total of 106* off 60 balls with 10 fours and 6 sixes. As a result, RR won the match by 7 wickets and Buttler won the Man of the Match title.

Virat Kohli (RCB) | 101* vs GT, 2023

To qualify for the playoffs, Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) needed to win this match. It was a do-or-die match for RCB. Gujarat Titans (GT) won the toss and elected to field first. 

Virat Kohli and Faf du Plessis opened the batting for RCB. Faf returned to the pavilion by scoring 28 runs, but Virat kept going on the other end.

He played cautiously, keeping in mind the conditions, and punished the bad balls. Virat went past the 50-run mark in 35 balls.

There was little support from other middle-order batters, but King Kohli didn’t stop. He brought up his second hundred of the 2023 season in 60 balls, which consisted of 13 fours and 1 six.

Kohli’s unbeaten 101 went in vain as GT won the match and RCB bowed out of the playoff contentions. However, Kohli’s hundred will forever remain in the hearts of his fans.

Yashasvi Jaiswal (RR) | 124 vs MI, 2023

This blockbuster match was played at Wankhede Stadium. Rajasthan Royals (RR) won the toss and chose to bat first. Yashasvi Jaiswal and Jos Buttler opened the innings for RR. 

On a tricky pitch, not a single batter from RR could score more than 20 runs. But Yashasvi didn’t have any fear on his face. 

He was on fire, as he scored his half-century in 32 balls and his century in 53 balls. Yashasvi scored a total of 124 runs, including 16 fours and 8 sixes, and helped RR set a target of 213 for Mumbai Indians.

Unfortunately, RR didn’t win the match, but Yashasvi’s fabulous performance earned him the Man of the Match award. and made him the highest individual scorer for RR.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *