In the glitzy, glamorous world of the IPL, a few things shine much brighter than anything else. The cash-rich league has wooed many players, but a handful of them have forged an unwavering association with their respective teams.

These players not only proved their worth for their teams but also solidified their legacies by staying loyal to one team. This article will glance over the 7 players who have played for only 1 team throughout their IPL careers.

Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli and Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) have an unbreakable bond, dating from the inaugural season in 2008. The Indian batting superstar has been the charm of the Bangalore franchise, sending RCB fans into a frenzy every time he has stepped onto the field.

Over the years, Kohli has given numerous breathtaking performances while donning the red and gold jersey. His legacy as an RCB batter and a captain will forever be etched into the franchise’s folklore.

Kieron Pollard

Kieron Pollard, the West Indies power hitter, came to the IPL in 2010 and represented one of the most successful teams — the Mumbai Indians (MI). Pollard cemented his place in the star-studded team with his ferocious batting display and handy bowling.

The all-rounder played for MI till the 2022 season, featuring in 189 games with 3412 runs and 69 wickets to his name. After his IPL retirement, Pollard has also played for MI’s affiliate franchises in other T20 leagues.

Sunil Narine

Known for his unique hairstyle in his initial years, Sunil Narine has left an indelible mark in the IPL while representing the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR). The Caribbean off-spinner kicked off his IPL career with KKR in 2012, and the affiliation is still going strong.

Narine has been a mainstay of KKR’s bowling attack, providing the team with breakthroughs at crucial points. Moreover, his quick-fire knocks with the bat have also provided rocketing starts, with one of his fifties coming off 15 balls!

Lasith Malinga

Lasith Malinga was the bowling spearhead of the Mumbai Indians franchise for almost 11 seasons. The Yorker King made his IPL debut for MI in 2009 and wreaked havoc with his pace and pinpoint yorkers till 2019.

Slinga Malinga’s menace earned him 170 wickets in 122 outings. His bowling performances helped MI win the IPL title four times between 2013 and 2019.

Sachin Tendulkar

Sachin Tendulkar, the Indian batting stalwart, was an iconic player for his home city-based franchise — the Mumbai Indians. Few players have been lucky enough to represent their hometowns in the IPL, and Sachin’s relationship with Mumbai goes a long way.

Sachin’s presence in the team from the inaugural season garnered a lot of love and support for the MI franchise. The Master Blaster featured in 78 games, scoring 2334 runs, including a solitary century.

The Mumbai Indians franchise bid adieu to the legendary batter by winning their maiden IPL title in 2013.

Shane Warne

Shane Warne was the first-ever player signed by the Rajasthan Royals (RR) franchise before the inaugural season. He was entrusted with the double responsibility of captaining and coaching the then-underdog team.

RR’s trust in Warne paid off, as Warne led RR to the title triumph in the 2008 season. Later, the legendary spinner went on to play 3 more seasons with them, bagging 57 wickets in 55 matches.

Shaun Marsh

The first-ever Orange Cap winner of the IPL, Shaun Marsh, donned Kings XI Punjab’s (KXIP) jersey for 10 straight seasons. The Australian batter was a rookie in 2008 with no experience of playing international cricket, but he took everyone by storm.

His batting exploits earned him a permanent place in the KXIP team, which lasted until 2017. Marsh played 71 matches for KXIP, amassing 2477 runs, including 1 century and 20 fifties.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *