IPL 2024: Overseas Players Availability in the 17th Season

India’s T20 extravaganza — the Indian Premier League (IPL) — has started on March 22, 2024. The 17th season of the IPL will see many Indian and overseas players dazzle the field with their performances.

The overseas players will be in the limelight as they ply their trades in the IPL 2024 to prepare for the upcoming 2024 T20 World Cup. That puts a question mark on the full availability of these foreign players for their respective IPL franchises throughout the season.

So, this article provides an update about the overseas player’s availability for the IPL 2024.

England Players Availability for IPL 2024

A total of 17 players were signed by IPL teams ahead of the 2024 season, with 12 making themselves available for the whole tournament. David Willey will miss some matches at the beginning due to personal reasons, though he might be available in the later stages.

However, some of these 12 players might leave early, as England will play a T20I series against Pakistan starting on May 22.

Also Read | List of England Cricketer’s Salary and Their Contracts

Australia Players Availability for IPL 2024

15 Australian players are part of the IPL 2024, representing 8 different teams. All these players will be playing throughout the 17th season, except Matthew Wade, who will miss the start of the season for Gujarat Titans.

New Zealand Players Availability for IPL 2024

New Zealand is set to play a 5-match T20I series against Pakistan in Pakistan from April 18, 2024. Despite that, 8 Kiwi players will be prioritising their IPL commitments over international duty.

Kane Williamson, Daryl Mitchell, Rachin Ravindra, Mitchell Santner, Glenn Phillips, Trent Boult, and Lockie Ferguson will be busy in the IPL. Devon Conway, though, will be out of action till the end of April due to injury. He might arrive in India in May, subject to fitness clearance.

Also Read | New Zealand Cricketers Salaries and Central Contracts List

Sri Lanka Players Availability for IPL 2024

As the IPL enters its second week, Sri Lanka will be playing the second Test match against Bangladesh, which is part of the World Test Championship. However, none of the Sri Lankan players contracted by IPL teams are part of the Test series.

Wanindu Hasaranga was selected for the Test series, but he was banned for 2 Tests by ICC. Thus, he was expected to join his IPL team, Sunrisers Hyderabad, before the league started. However, he will be unavailable for at least the first 2 weeks due to an injury.

Bangladesh Players Availability for IPL 2024

Mustafizur Rahman is the only player from Bangladesh playing in the IPL 2024. However, the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has allowed him to play from March 22 to May 11. So Chennai Super Kings will be without Rahman in the later stages of the season.

South Africa, West Indies, Afghanistan, Ireland, & Zimbabwe Players

15 South African cricketers, 11 West Indies players, 8 Afghani players, and 1 Irish (Josh Little) and 1 Zimbabwean (Sikandar Raza) player will be assembled in India for the 17th IPL season.

Cricket South Africa (CSA), Cricket West Indies (CWI), Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB), Cricket Ireland (CI), and Zimbabwe Cricket (ZC) have made their players available for the complete season.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *