ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Winners List

When it comes to women’s cricket, there is no team other than Australia that has dominated the sport across formats. And it is pretty visible through their invincible performances in the World Cups.

There is no wonder Australia has lifted the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup the most times than their counterparts. On that note, let’s take a look at the winners of the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup.

ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Winners: Edition by Edition

EditionWinnerRunner-upHost Country
2009EnglandNew ZealandEngland
2010AustraliaNew ZealandWest Indies
2012AustraliaEnglandSri Lanka
2016West IndiesAustraliaIndia
2018AustraliaEnglandWest Indies
2023AustraliaSouth AfricaSouth Africa

2009 | England

After the men’s inaugural T20 World Cup in 2007, the International Cricket Council (ICC) launched the women’s tournament in 2009. England was the host of the first edition, with 8 teams participating in the event, including the hosts. 

England and New Zealand remained unbeaten in the group stage and topped their respective groups. Later, both teams defeated their opponents in the semi-finals to clash in the final.

The hosts England bundled out the White Ferns for a mere 85 runs and chased down the target with 6 wickets to spare. With that, England won the inaugural Women’s T20 World Cup in 2009.

2010 | Australia

Australia’s dream run in the tournament’s history started in 2010 after losing out on the final berth in the last edition. Three islands in the Caribbean hosted the second edition.

Australia made it to their first final, while New Zealand booked their place in the summit clash in a row. The Trans-Tasman rivals battled out in a low-scoring thriller, as Australia set a target of 107 runs.

The target wasn’t big, but Australia, being Australia, held their nerves till the end to win their maiden Women’s T20 World Cup. They defeated the White Ferns by 3 runs in the final.

2012 | Australia

The island nation in the Indian Ocean, Sri Lanka, hosted the third edition of the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup. 

The defending champions, Australia and England, squared off in the 2012 final. In their group stage fixture, England romped their rivals by 7 wickets.

It was the right setup for Australia to take revenge on England. And boy, they did it in a last-ball thriller.

The Aussies put up a defendable 142 on the scoreboard. Later, their disciplined bowling reaped rewards as they defeated England to lift their second consecutive final.

2014 | Australia

The fourth edition, held in Bangladesh, saw its expansion from 8 to 10 teams. The hosts, Bangladesh and Ireland, made their first appearances in the 20-over tournament.

This edition’s final was a repeat of the 2012 final. Australia and England faced each other in a row in the tournament’s final.

Australia defeated England in a low-scoring match by 6 wickets to get their hands on the coveted trophy. With that, Australia became the first women’s team to make the hat trick of winning the T20 tournament.

2016 | West Indies

2016 was the year of Caribbean supremacy as the West Indies men and women lifted the respective T20 World Cups in India.

Speaking of the women’s tournament, the West Indies met the 3-time champions Australia in the summit clash. Australia scored a good 148 runs in 20 overs. In response, the chase was rather easy for the Caribbean women, as they beat the world champions by 8 wickets.

2018 | Australia

The tourney came back to the West Indies for the second time after the 2010 edition. The hosts, Australia, India, and England, made it to the semi-finals.

Australia thrashed the Windies in the 1st semi-final, while England defeated India in the 2nd semi-final to move into the final. For the third time, archrivals Australia and England played in the final.

However, the story was similar to that of their previous 2 final encounters. The Aussies won their 4th title as they thumped England by 8 wickets.

2020 | Australia

This edition saw Thailand, an associate team, make their first appearance in the Women’s T20 World Cup. 

The hosts, Australia, made it to yet another final to play in front of their home crowd. India was the other team to enter their first summit clash.

The famous Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) was the venue for the final, which witnessed a record crowd of 86,174 in attendance. The hosts set a huge target of 185 runs for India to chase, but the Indian girls faltered on 99 runs.

For the first time, a team won the Women’s T20 World Cup while playing at home.

2023 | Australia

South Africa hosted the eighth edition of the tournament, with the hosts making their first final appearance. And Australia reached the final yet another time, like it’s their habit.

The Australian team posted 156 runs in their allotted 20 overs. In reply, the hosts put up a good fight but fell short by 19 runs. And the Australian women continued their reign in the T20 World Cup by winning it for the 6th time.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *