Explained: Super Over Rules in T20 World Cup 2024

The 2024 T20 World Cup promises to delight fans with ferocious batting, splendid bowling, and breathtaking fielding performances from players.

In this fierce contest of bat and ball, things are only going to get spicier, delivering thrilling and nail-biting matches.

And imagine witnessing a match ending in a tie and going into the Super Over to decide the winner. This will add another level of madness to the contest.

But what are the Super Over Rules? And how do they work?

Here’s our explainer on the Super Over Rules implemented in the T20 World Cup 2024.

What are the Super Over rules in T20 World Cup 2024?

When a match ends in a tie, the Super Over comes into play as a tie-breaker for determining the winning team. 

If any match from the group stage, Super 8, or knockouts ends in a tie, they are eligible for the Super Over. 

During the Super Over, both teams will have a chance to bat in one over and score as many runs as possible. The team that scores the most runs will emerge as the winners of the one-over eliminator.

Also Read | ICC T20 World Cup 2024 Format: Explained

Which team gets to bat first in the Super Over?

See, this is simple. The team that originally batted second in the match will get the opportunity to bat first in the Super Over. The other team will then chase the target when their batting turn comes up.

How many batters are allowed to bat in the Super Over?

Both teams can nominate 3 batters each for batting in the tie-breaker. If 2 of the 3 batters get out in the over, then they can’t bat further even if balls are remaining.

And how many bowlers can bowl?

In the case of bowling, only one bowler from each side can bowl in the Super Over.

What if the Super Over also ends in a tie?

According to the ICC’s playing conditions, if, by any chance, the Super Over also ends in a tie, then subsequent Super Overs will take place until a winner emerges. Unless an exceptional situation arises, an unlimited number of Super Overs can be played to decide the final result, although it should happen in the allocated extra time.

Can the same batters and bowlers participate in the subsequent Super Over?

If a subsequent Super Over takes place, then a batter dismissed in the previous Super Over can’t bat again. However, if a batter remained unbeaten, didn’t bat, or retired hurt in the last Super Over, they can bat in the subsequent Super Over.

On the other hand, a bowler who bowled in the previous Super Over can’t bowl again in the subsequent Super Over.

What if a Super Over can’t be finished?

If, due to any unavoidable circumstances, Super Over can’t be completed or is abandoned, then the match will result in a tie and both teams will share 1 point.

If this situation occurs in the Semi-Finals, then the team that finished first in their Super 8 group will advance to the Final.

And if this happens in the Final, then both teams will be declared joint winners.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *