T20 World Cup 2024 Captains: List of Skippers of All 20 Teams

The T20 World Cup 2024 is right on the horizon, with the West Indies and the USA scheduled to co-host the tournament in June 2024.

A total of 20 teams from around the world are in the race to lay their hands on the coveted trophy. Teams have appointed versatile and qualified players as their captains to get the job done in a thrilling manner.

This year’s T20 World Cup will see a mix of young and experienced skippers lead their teams from the front.

Here is a complete list of captains for each team in the T20 World Cup 2024.

Afghanistan | Rashid Khan

Afghanistan’s frontline wrist spinner Rashid Khan has been entrusted with the captaincy duty for the T20 World Cup 2024. He will lead Afghanistan for the first time in a T20 World Cup. Rashid’s captaincy experience isn’t vast, but he has the capability to guide the team.

Australia | Mitchell Marsh

Mitchell Marsh is new to leading Australia, having been tasked with the job in August 2023. Now he is all set to captain the Aussies in the upcoming T20 World Cup. Thus far, he has won 7 of the 8 games he has captained.

Bangladesh | Najmul Hossain Shanto

Najmul Hossain Shanto has been given charge of Bangladesh’s squad. He has a huge task to lift the team from the bottom after enduring poor performances in the previous editions.

Canada | Saad Bin Zafar

Canada are going to appear in the T20 World Cup for the first time. With a momentous landmark, they have shown faith in Saad Bin Zafar to lead them in the world event. Zafar has done well while at the helm of Canada since late 2022, winning 10 out of 16 T20Is.

England | Jos Buttler

Jos Buttler brings in the valuable experience of leading England to the title victory in the 2022 edition. The wicketkeeper-captain will look to successfully defend the title as they muscle with other heavyweights.

India | Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma has a plethora of experience guiding teams to glory, and he will look to do the same for India in the T20 World Cup 2024. In the 2022 edition, he took the Indian team to the semi-final but faltered against England.

Also Read | India Squad for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024

Ireland | Paul Stirling

Ireland’s veteran batter, Paul Stirling, will captain Ireland in the T20 World Cup 2024 for the first time. Stirling was appointed as their full-time captain in March 2023 after Andy Balbirnie stepped down.

Namibia | Gerhard Erasmus

Gerhard Erasmus will be at the helm of Namibia for the third edition in the running since 2021. In the 2021 edition, Namibia qualified for the main event after beating Ireland and the Netherlands in the first round. While in the 2022 edition, Namibia pulled off an upset against Sri Lanka, but couldn’t get past the first round.

Nepal | Rohit Paudel

Nepal has made quick strides in world cricket, and they are raring to play in their second T20 World Cup after 10 years. They have entrusted Rohit Paudel to make a mark in the tournament.

Netherlands | Scott Edwards

After a memorable 2023 ODI World Cup, Scott Edwards is looking forward to pulling off some upsets in the upcoming T20 World Cup. This is going to be Edwards’ second T20 World Cup as the Netherlands skipper, having led them in 2022 with 2 wins each in the first round and the main event, including a thrilling win over South Africa.

Also Read | Complete List of T20 World Cup 2024 Squads for All Teams

New Zealand | Kane Williamson

New Zealand’s experienced campaigner, Kane Williamson, is back to lead the Blackcaps in the T20 World Cup 2024. Kane has captained the Kiwis in three previous editions in 2016, 2021, and 2022, with the last being a mixed bag.

Oman | Aqib Ilyas

Oman are going to make their third T20 World Cup appearance after missing out on the qualification in 2022. They have given the responsibility of leading the team to recently appointed skipper Aqib Ilyas.

Papua New Guinea | Assadollah Vala

Papua New Guinea have qualified for the global event for the first time. They have entrusted their long-serving skipper, Assadollah Vala, to lead the team.

Pakistan | Babar Azam

Babar Azam will enter the tournament as the most successful captain in the T20I format. In the last T20 World Cup edition, Pakistan ended up as runner-up after a remarkable run. Azam had stepped down from captaincy in 2023, but he has been again given charge of the team.

Scotland | Richie Berrington

Scotland have again placed their confidence in Richie Berrington to captain the team in the upcoming tournament. The Scottish team had a disappointing outing in the 2022 edition after they failed to qualify for the main event.

South Africa | Aiden Markram

South Africa will be banking on Aiden Markram to guide them to their maiden title win. Markram’s short T20I captaincy record isn’t good, but he has led Sunrisers Eastern Cape to glory in the SA20 twice. So, South Africa must be expecting him to bring that experience to the global stage.

Sri Lanka | Wanindu Hasaranga

Wanindu Hasaranga has been Sri Lanka’s lead spinner, and now he will have the huge responsibility of spinning the team to title victory. Thus far, Hasaranga has led Sri Lanka in 7 T20Is, winning 5 of them.

Uganda | Brian Masaba

Uganda’s stakes are rising rapidly in the African continent in the shortest format in recent years. And now they will be making their first appearance in an ICC event through the T20 World Cup 2024. Their most experienced skipper, Brian Masaba, will lead Uganda in the tournament.

United States America | Monank Patel

The USA, co-hosts of the T20 World Cup 2024, will be led by Monank Patel. They will look to leave an indelible mark in their maiden T20 World Cup.

West Indies | Rovman Powell

The other co-hosts, the West Indies, must be pumped up to unleash their best performance in front of their home crowd. After lean patches in the previous 2 editions, with only 2 wins and failing to qualify for the main event in 2022, Rovman Powell has a big task cut out to bring back the golden days.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *