Top 3: Men’s Teams with Most ICC Trophies

Cricket’s global governing body, the International Cricket Council (ICC), organises some of the most prestigious tournaments every year. All teams give their best to lay their hands on several of these trophies.

At the end of the day, though, only the finest team takes the trophy home. A few teams have tasted great success in ICC tournaments, bagging the coveted trophies several times.

In this article, we’ll look at the top 3 men’s teams with the most ICC trophies.

3. West Indies | 5 ICC Trophies

The West Indies were a formidable team in the late 20th century, with unflinching dominance over their opponents. The fact that the Caribbean team clinched the first 2 ODI World Cups in 1975 and 1979 is enough to paint the picture.

They continued their mighty run in the early 2000s, adding a third ICC title in the form of the Champions Trophy in 2004. The Windies aren’t in great touch in Tests and ODIs, but they are a force to be reckoned with in T20Is.

They are the only team to win the T20 World Cup twice, with their maiden triumph coming in 2012 and the second title in 2016.

2. India | 5 ICC Trophies

India is one of the powerhouses in international cricket, known to challenge their opponents on any given day. They have transformed themselves from an underdog team to a mighty one.

The Indian team tasted their first ICC title success by claiming the 1983 World Cup, which fuelled cricket’s growth in India. They added one more ODI World Cup to the trophy cabinet in 2011.

In between these 2 marvellous victories, the Men in Blue clinched their maiden Champions Trophy in 2002 and T20 World Cup in 2007. India clinched their second Champions Trophy in 2013.

3 of the 5 title triumphs in 2007, 2011, and 2013 came under the captaincy of Captain Cool, MS Dhoni.

Also Read | 5 Things That Set MS Dhoni Apart From Other Captains

1. Australia | 10 ICC Trophies

Australia is the most dominant team in the entire history of the gentleman’s game. The Aussies boast 10 ICC trophies, which is the combined number of titles won by India and the West Indies.

The 1987 ODI World Cup victory was their maiden ICC title. The Australian followed that up with a hat-trick of World Cups in 1999, 2003, and 2007. If this wasn’t enough, they added 2 more ODI World Cups in 2015 and 2023.

Australia has also won the Champions Trophy twice — first in 2006 and later in 2009. They had to endure a long wait to get their hands on the T20 World Cup. But the wait was worth it, as they clinched the T20 trophy in 2021.

In 2023, Australia rounded off their cabinet trophy with the World Test Championship triumph. They became the first team to win all the major ICC titles.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *