The Hundred Women’s Competition Winners List from 2021 to Date

As women’s cricket grows from strength to strength, many domestic leagues are cropping up for them. The England and Wales Cricket Board’s (ECB) move to introduce the Hundred Women’s Competition has further helped gain more traction among the fans.

The Hundred is a 100-ball tournament played by 8 teams in England and is the brainchild of the ECB. The league has delivered some thrilling matches, with the teams having their ultimate goal of claiming the trophy.

Here are the winners of the Women’s Hundred Competition from 2021 to date.

The Hundred Women’s Competition Winners: Edition by Edition

2021Oval InvinciblesSouthern Brave
2022Oval InvinciblesSouthern Brave
2023Southern BraveNorthern Superchargers

2021 | Oval Invincibles

The men’s and women’s Hundred tournaments took place adjacently in the inaugural season. Oval Invincibles and Southern Brave clashed in the inaugural final at the iconic Lord’s Stadium.

After being asked to bat first, the Invincibles posted a fighting 121 in 100 balls. While chasing the target, the Brave found themselves on 2 runs for 3 wickets as their top 3 batters went on ducks. 

That early setback completely threw them out of the match, as they were skittled for 73 runs. The 48-run win helped the Oval Invincibles win the inaugural Women’s Hundred Competition.

2022 | Oval Invincibles

The second season again put the Invincibles and Brave against each other in the final. But the result was similar to that of the previous season’s final, with Invincibles emerging as the winners.

This time, the Southern Brave decided to bat first and went on to post 101 runs on the scoreboard. In response, the Invincibles had a bumpy start as they lost their openers cheaply.

However, Alice Capsey and Marizanne Kapp steadied their ship, helping the team to go over the ropes. With that, the Oval Invincibles got their hands on the trophy in a row.

2023 | Southern Brave

The Southern Brave made it to their third successive final in the 2023 season. Thankfully, they didn’t face off against the Oval Invincibles, putting their bad luck behind them to win their maiden title.

The Northern Superchargers asked the Brave to bat first, and their batters came out strong. Danni Wyatt’s 59 and Freya Kemp’s blistering 31 off 17 helped Brave put up 139 on the board.

In reply, the Superchargers kept losing wickets at regular intervals, and eventually, they were bowled out for 105 runs. The Southern Brave won the final match by 34 runs to win the trophy after 2 missed chances.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *