The 13th season of the Big Bash League (BBL) 2023-24 is here to entertain cricket fans across the world. The Australian summer of 2023-24 will witness some intense matches, fiery knocks, and mind-blowing performances from the players.

However, the BBL has undergone some significant changes in the number of matches played and the format.

BBL 2023-24 will take place between December 2023 and January 2024. The opening match will be played on December 7, with the Final scheduled for January 24, 2024.

The league will feature a total of 8 teams. The teams that will participate are as follows — Adelaide Strikers, Brisbane Heat, Hobart Hurricanes, Melbourne Renegades, Melbourne Stars, Perth Scorchers, Sydney Sixers, and Sydney Thunder.

Also Read: Australia’s Domestic Cricket – Explained

Revamped Format of Big Bash League (BBL)

The previous edition of the BBL included 61 matches, including 56 league matches and 5 playoff matches. But from this season on, the league will see 44 matches, which includes 40 league matches and 4 playoff matches.

The changes are in line with keeping fans’ interests in mind and producing world-class cricket performances throughout the league.

In this revamped format, the 8 teams will play 10 games each instead of 14. Each team will play 4 teams once and the other 3 teams twice.

After the 40 league matches, the top 4 teams will battle it out in the playoffs. 

Previously, 5 teams participated in the playoffs, which featured 5 playoff matches. But from now on, 4 playoff matches will be played in the BBL. 

Teams sitting on No. 1 and No. 2 will compete in the Qualifier on January 19, while the No. 3 and No. 4 teams will face off in the Knockout on January 20.

On January 22, The loser of the Qualifier and the winner of the Knockout will fight it out in the Challenger to book a place in the Final.

Finally, the winner of the Qualifier and the Challenger will square off in the BBL Final on January 24.

Also Read: SA20 2024: Schedule, Format, Venues, and Broadcast Details

BBL 2023-24 Schedule

DateMatchVenueTime (Local/IST)
Dec 7Brisbane Heat vs Melbourne StarsBrisbane6:15 PM/1:45 PM
Dec 8Sydney Sixers vs Melbourne RenegadesSydney7:15 PM/1:45 PM
Dec 9Adelaide Strikers vs Brisbane HeatAdelaide6:45 PM/1:45 PM
Dec 10Melbourne Renegades vs Perth ScorchersGeelong7:15 PM/1:45 PM
Dec 11Hobart Hurricanes vs Sydney SixersLaunceston7:15 PM/1:45 PM
Dec 12Sydney Thunder vs Brisbane HeatCanberra7:15 PM/1:45 PM
Dec 13Melbourne Stars vs Perth ScorchersMelbourne7:15 PM/1:45 PM
Dec 19Adelaide Strikers vs Sydney ThunderAdelaide6:45 PM/1:45 PM
Dec 20Perth Scorchers vs Hobart HurricanesPerth4:15 PM/1:45 PM
Dec 21Melbourne Renegades vs Brisbane HeatMelbourne7:15 PM/1:45 PM
Dec 22Sydney Sixers vs Adelaide StrikersSydney7:15 PM/1:45 PM
Dec 23Melbourne Stars vs Sydney ThunderAlbury3:30 PM/10:00 AM
Dec 23Hobart Hurricanes vs Melbourne RenegadesHobart7:15 PM/1:45 PM
Dec 26Sydney Sixers vs Melbourne StarsSydney6:05 PM/12.35 PM
Dec 26Perth Scorchers vs Melbourne RenegadesPerth6:15 PM/3:45 PM
Dec 27Brisbane Heat vs Sydney ThunderBrisbane6:15 PM/1:45 PM
Dec 28Hobart Hurricanes vs Melbourne StarsHobart7:15 PM/1:45 PM
Dec 29Melbourne Renegades vs Adelaide StrikersMelbourne7:15 PM/1:45 PM
Dec 30Sydney Thunder vs Sydney SixersSydney7:15 PM/1:45 PM
Dec 31Adelaide Strikers vs Melbourne StarsAdelaide6:45 PM/1:45 PM
Jan 1Hobart Hurricanes vs Sydney ThunderHobart4:00 PM/10:30 AM
Jan 1Brisbane Heat vs Sydney SixersBrisbane6:15 PM/1:45 PM
Jan 2Melbourne Stars vs Melbourne RenegadesMelbourne7:15 PM/1:45 PM
Jan 3Sydney Sixers vs Brisbane HeatCoffs Harbour6:05 PM/12:35 PM
Jan 3Perth Scorchers vs Adelaide StrikersPerth6:15 PM/3:45 PM
Jan 4Melbourne Renegades vs Hobart HurricanesMelbourne7:15 PM/1:45 PM
Jan 5Adelaide Strikers vs Perth ScorchersAdelaide6:45 PM/1:45 PM
Jan 6Melbourne Stars vs Sydney SixersMelbourne7:15 PM/1:45 PM
Jan 7Brisbane Heat vs Hobart HurricanesBrisbane6:15 PM/1:45 PM
Jan 8Sydney Thunder vs Perth ScorchersSydney7:15 PM/1:45 PM
Jan 9Adelaide Strikers vs Hobart HurricanesAdelaide6:40 PM/1:40 PM
Jan 10Brisbane Heat vs Perth ScorchersBrisbane6:40 PM/1:40 PM
Jan 11Hobart Hurricanes vs Adelaide StrikersHobart7:15 PM/1:45 PM
Jan 12Sydney Sixers vs Sydney ThunderSydney7:15 PM/1:45 PM
Jan 13Perth Scorchers vs Brisbane HeatPerth1:15 PM/10:45 AM
Jan 13Melbourne Renegades vs Melbourne StarsMelbourne7:30 PM/2:00 PM
Jan 14Sydney Thunder vs Adelaide StrikersCanberra7:15 PM/1:45 PM
Jan 15Melbourne Stars vs Hobart HurricanesMelbourne7:15 PM/1:45 PM
Jan 16Perth Scorchers vs Sydney SixersPerth4:40 PM/2:10 PM
Jan 17Sydney Thunder vs Melbourne RenegadesSydney7:15 PM/1:45 PM
Jan 19Qualifier: No. 1 vs No. 2TBCTBC
Jan 20Knockout: No. 3 vs No. 4TBCTBC
Jan 22Challenger: Winner of Knockout vs Loser of QualifierTBCTBC
Jan 24Final: Winner of Qualifier vs Winner of ChallengerTBCTBC

Also Read: ICC Cricket World Cup 2023: Schedule, Venues, and Key Matches

BBL 2023-24 Broadcasting and Live Streaming

Foxtel and Channel 7 will broadcast the BBL 2023-24 live on TV, while Kayo Sports will live stream it in Australia.

In India, cricket fans can enjoy the BBL broadcast on Star Sports TV channels.

Read Next: Australia World Test Championship (WTC) 2023-25 Schedule


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *