After a successful inaugural season of SA20, Cricket South Africa (CSA) announced the schedule for the second edition of SA20. The SA20 will kick off after the conclusion of India’s tour of South Africa on January 7, 2024.

The South African T20 League will take place between January and February 2024. Gqeberha will host the opening game on January 10, with the final scheduled for February 10, 2024.

However, the league directly clashes with the UAE’s International League T20 (ILT20), which is scheduled during the same period. Moreover, SA20 also clashes with the later stages of the Big Bash League (BBL) 2023-24.

Format of SA20

The month-long tournament will feature 34 matches, which include 30 league matches and 4 playoff matches. For the second season, CSA has tweaked the format by including a playoff structure similar to the IPL instead of semifinals and finals.

The defending champions, Sunrisers Eastern Cape, will face the Joburg Super Kings in the opening match of the SA20 in Gqeberha.

The 2024 SA20 will feature six teams owned by different IPL franchises. The teams that will be in action are — Durban Super Giants, Joburg Super Kings, MI Cape Town, Paarl Royals, Pretoria Capitals, and Sunrisers Eastern Cape.

Each franchise will play 10 matches, with 5 home and 5 away games. Each team plays against each other in a double round-robin format, with the top 4 teams advancing to the playoffs.

Teams positioned No. 1 and No. 2 will play in Qualifier 1 to directly enter the final. While the No. 3 and No. 4 teams will fight it out in the Eliminator to secure a spot in Qualifier 2.

Later, the loser of Qualifier 1 and the winner of Eliminator will meet in Qualifier 2 to reach the finals. Lastly, the winners of Qualifier 1 and Qualifier 2 will square off in the SA20 final on February 10.

Also Read: Caribbean Premier League (CPL) 2023 – Schedule, Venue, Squads, and Broadcast Details

SA20 Schedule 2024 | Venues and Time

Date MatchVenueTime (Local / IST)
Jan 10Sunrisers Eastern Cape vs Joburg Super KingsGqeberha05:30 PM / 9:00 PM
Jan 11Durban Super Giants vs MI Cape TownDurban05:30 PM / 9:00 PM
Jan 12Paarl Royals vs Pretoria CapitalsPaarl05:30 PM / 9:00 PM
Jan 13Joburg Super Kings vs MI Cape TownJohannesburg01:30 PM / 5:00 PM
Jan 13Sunrisers Eastern Cape vs Durban Super GiantsGqeberha05:30 PM / 9:00 PM
Jan 14Pretoria Capitals vs Paarl RoyalsCenturion03:30 PM / 7:00 PM
Jan 15Durban Super Giants vs Joburg Super KingsDurban05:30 PM / 9:00 PM
Jan 16MI Cape Town vs Sunrisers Eastern CapeCape Town05:30 PM / 9:00 PM
Jan 17Paarl Royals vs Joburg Super KingsPaarl05:30 PM / 9:00 PM
Jan 18Pretoria Capitals vs Durban Super GiantsCenturion05:30 PM / 9:00 PM
Jan 19MI Cape Town vs Paarl RoyalsCape Town05:30 PM / 9:00 PM
Jan 20Durban Super Giants vs Sunrisers Eastern CapeDurban01:30 PM / 5:00 PM
Jan 20Joburg Super Kings vs Pretoria CapitalsJohannesburg05:30 PM / 9:00 PM
Jan 21Paarl Royals vs MI Cape TownPaarl03:30 PM / 7:00 PM
Jan 22Sunrisers Eastern Cape vs Pretoria CapitalsGqeberha05:30 PM / 9:00 PM
Jan 23MI Cape Town vs Durban Super GiantsCape Town05:30 PM / 9:00 PM
Jan 24Joburg Super Kings vs Paarl RoyalsJohannesburg05:30 PM / 9:00 PM
Jan 25Pretoria Capitals vs Sunrisers Eastern CapeCenturion05:30 PM / 9:00 PM
Jan 26Paarl Royals vs Durban Super GiantsPaarl05:30 PM / 9:00 PM
Jan 27Sunrisers Eastern Cape vs MI Cape TownGqeberha01:30 PM / 5:00 PM
Jan 27Pretoria Capitals vs Joburg Super KingsCenturion05:30 PM / 9:00 PM
Jan 28Durban Super Giants vs Paarl RoyalsDurban03:30 PM / 7:00 PM
Jan 29MI Cape Town vs Joburg Super KingsCape Town05:30 PM / 9:00 PM
Jan 30Durban Super Giants vs Pretoria CapitalsDurban05:30 PM / 9:00 PM
Jan 31Joburg Super Kings vs Sunrisers Eastern CapeJohannesburg05:30 PM / 9:00 PM
Feb 1Pretoria Capitals vs MI Cape TownCenturion05:30 PM / 9:00 PM
Feb 2Paarl Royals vs Sunrisers Eastern CapePaarl07:30 PM / 11:00 PM
Feb 3MI Cape Town vs Pretoria CapitalsCape Town01:30 PM / 5:00 PM
Feb 3Joburg Super Kings vs Durban Super GiantsJohannesburg05:30 PM / 9:00 PM
Feb 4Sunrisers Eastern Cape vs Paarl RoyalsGqeberha03:30 PM / 7:00 PM
Feb 6Qualifier 1: No. 1 vs No. 2TBC05:30 PM / 9:00 PM
Feb 7Eliminator: No. 3 vs No. 4TBC05:30 PM / 9:00 PM
Feb 8Qualifier 2: Loser of Q1 vs Winner of EliminatorTBC05:30 PM / 9:00 PM
Feb 10Final: Winners of Q1 vs Q2TBC04:30 PM / 8:00 PM
SA20 2024 Fixtures

SA20 Broadcasting and Live Streaming Details

In South Africa, the league will be broadcast live by SuperSport. Meanwhile, fans in India can watch SA20 2024 live on the Sports18 TV channel. Moreover, Jio Cinema will live stream the league on its OTT platform.

Read Next: South Africa World Test Championship (WTC) 2023-25 Schedule


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *