List of Indian Cricketers Inducted in the ICC Hall of Fame

For any player, representing their country at the highest level and contributing to their team’s cause is the stuff of a dream. In a cricket-crazy country like India, cricketers garner a lot of attention, with constant pressure to perform at their best.

A few notable players went on to establish their names by scoring impeccable runs or bagging record-breaking wickets. These player’s efforts didn’t go unnoticed, as the International Cricket Council (ICC) added them to the Hall of Fame.

In this article, we’ll look at the Indian cricketers who have been inducted in the ICC Hall of Fame.

List: Indian Cricketers Inducted in the ICC Hall of Fame

PlayerYear Inducted in
Sunil Gavaskar2009
Bishan Singh Bedi2009
Kapil Dev2010
Anil Kumble2015
Rahul Dravid2018
Sachin Tendulkar2019
Vinoo Mankad2021
Diana Edulji2023
Virender Sehwag2023

1. Sunil Gavaskar | 2009

Sunil Gavaskar, the little master, was one of the 55 inductees to have been inducted in the ICC Hall of Fame in 2009. The little master’s record in international cricket speaks for itself, with 10122 Test runs and 3092 ODI runs.

He went down in the record books as one of the greatest batsmen of all time. And this honour validates his greatness that the cricketing world witnessed.

2. Bishan Singh Bedi | 2009

Apart from Gavaskar, one more Indian made it to the honours that year, and he was Bishan Singh Bedi. The legendary left-arm spinner made batters dance to the tune of his spin bowling.

The former Indian captain had a glorious Test career, racking up 266 wickets in 67 Tests. However, he had a distinguished First-Class career with a whopping 1560 wickets under his belt.

3. Kapil Dev | 2010

The World Cup-winning captain made his way into the Hall of Fame in 2010. Looking at Kapil Dev’s all-round record, it would have been unjust to not have him among the elites.

The fast-bowling all-rounder showed his brilliance with both the ball and bat. Dev scalped 434 Test wickets and 253 ODI wickets and garnered 5248 Test runs and 3783 ODI runs.

4. Anil Kumble | 2015

Unarguably, Anil Kumble is one of the best spinners the country has produced. The leg spinner single-handedly destroyed the opponent’s batting lineups with his lethal wrist spin.

Anil Kumble contributed to many Test wins for India by bagging lots of wickets. Kumble ended his career as India’s leading wicket-taker in Tests (619) and ODIs (337). And he is one of the few bowlers who has the distinction of grabbing a 10-wicket haul in an innings in Tests.

5. Rahul Dravid | 2018

Rahul Dravid was a formidable batter for India, who stood like a wall at the crease, accumulating over 24000 international runs. Dravid was inducted in the ICC Hall of Fame in 2018.

He took on different roles by batting at different positions, keeping wickets for some time, and also captaining India for a short span.

6. Sachin Tendulkar | 2019

The next year, Sachin Tendulkar graced the Hall of Fame with his induction, following a stellar cricketing career. Tendulkar, one of the greatest batsmen, has many records to his name.

The Master Blaster wielded the willow with precision and mastered every stroke, scoring runs all around the ground. Tendulkar signed off his impressive career with over 34000 runs and 100 international centuries, which is the most by any player.

7. Vinoo Mankad | 2021

Remember the Mankading dismissal? It is named after none other than Vinoo Mankad. He also has the rare distinction of batting at every position in Tests.

Apart from that, he was a great all-rounder for India in the red-ball format. Mankad grabbed 162 wickets and 2109 runs in Tests, while he picked up 782 wickets and scored 11591 runs in his over 25-year First-Class career.

8. Diana Edulji | 2023

Diana Edulji became the first Indian woman cricketer to be inducted in the ICC Hall of Fame. She has to be one of the finest women cricketers to have played for India.

Edulji represented India in 20 Tests and 34 ODIs, scalping 63 and 46 wickets, respectively. She remains among the top 3 wicket-takers in women’s Test, having bowled over 5000 deliveries.

9. Virender Sehwag | 2023

Virender Sehwag stormed the opposition with his aggressive batting style, giving India solid starts. He brought revolution in Tests by accumulating runs at a faster pace for fun.

Sehwag played a key role in India’s 2011 World Cup win with his fearless batting from the first ball. His induction in the Hall of Fame highlights the impact he created with his valiant batting.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *