Are you confused about the IPL 2024 format? Well, not anymore, as this piece will explain the format and groups for the IPL 2024.

As IPL’s 17th edition kicked off on March 22, the BCCI announced the 2 groups and the league stage format. Here’s a look at the group structure.

IPL 2024 Groups

The 10 IPL teams have been virtually split across 2 groups of 5 each, with each team playing 14 games.

Mumbai Indians, Kolkata Knight Riders, Rajasthan Royals, Delhi Capitals, and Lucknow Super Giants feature in Group A. While Chennai Super Kings, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Gujarat Titans, Royal Challengers Bengaluru, and Punjab Kings are part of Group B.

Group AGroup B
Mumbai IndiansChennai Super Kings
Kolkata Knight RidersSunrisers Hyderabad
Rajasthan RoyalsGujarat Titans
Delhi CapitalsRoyal Challengers Bengaluru
Lucknow Super GiantsPunjab Kings

Also Read | IPL 2024: List of Captains of All 10 IPL Teams

IPL 2024 Format

Now, each team is slated to play 14 games throughout the league stage. So, each team will play 2 matches against the other 4 teams from their same group (8 matches). 

While they play 4 opponents from the other group once (4 matches), with 2 games against the remaining team. Here, the remaining team is picked randomly through a draw.

Let’s understand this with an example.

The 5-time champion Mumbai Indians are placed in Group A. They will play 2 matches each against their group members, KKR, RR, DC, and LSG, in a home and away format.

Mumbai then takes on Group B teams CSK, GT, RCB, and PBKS once either home or away, while they play SRH twice on a home and away basis.

This is how each team will play 14 matches in the league stage of IPL 2024. However, all teams will be placed on a single points table.

IPL 2024 Playoffs Format

At the end of the league stage, the top 4 teams on the points table will qualify for the IPL 2024 Playoffs. The IPL Playoffs structure involves Qualifier 1, Eliminator, Qualifier 2, and Final.

The top 2 teams square off in Qualifier 1, with the winner getting direct entry into the final while the loser moves to Qualifier 2. The No. 3 and No. 4 teams face each other in the Eliminator, with the winner advancing to Qualifier 2.

Qualifier 2 will see the loser of Qualifier 1 and the winner of Eliminator take on each other to secure a spot in the Final. Then the winners of Qualifiers 1 and 2 will battle out in the summit clash for the IPL trophy.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *