Explained: Super 8 Round in T20 World Cup 2024

The ninth edition of the T20 World Cup kicked off on June 1, 2024, with the opening clash between co-hosts the USA and Canada. 

A total of 20 teams are vying for the coveted trophy, split into 4 groups of 5 teams each. The top 2 teams from each first round group will further move closer to glory by qualifying for the Super 8 round.

But what is the Super 8 round? How does it work? And how will teams be placed?

Here’s a simple breakdown of all the above questions for you.

What is the Super 8 Round in the T20 World Cup 2024?

After the conclusion of the Group Stage, the tournament will move on to the Super 8 stage on June 19. This round will consist of the top 2 teams qualifying from each first round group.

The 8 teams will be divided into 2 groups of 4 teams — Group 1 and Group 2. Each team will play against the other teams in their group. The top teams from each Super 8 group will then advance to the semi-finals.

How will the teams be placed in the Super 8 round?

The top 2 teams from each first round group will make up the Super 8 round. However, the teams won’t be slotted in based on where they finish on the points table in the first round. Rather, they will retain the pre-decided seeding allotted to them for the first round.

Now what is this pre-decided seeding?

See, for the first round, every team has been given a pre-decided seeding according to their groups. For example, teams placed in Group B — England, Australia, Namibia, Scotland, and Oman — are seeded as B1, B2, B3, B4, and B5.

If England finish second in Group B and Australia top it, England will still retain their seeding as B1 going into the Super 8 stage. While Australia will carry forward their B2 seeding.

But if England finish third and Scotland take the second spot, then Scotland will assume England’s seeding and play the fixtures allotted for B1.

And if Namibia and Scotland finish first and second instead of England and Australia, then they will take B1 and B2 seedings.

This seeding method also applies to the remaining 3 groups, with A1-A2, C1-C2, and D1-D2 making it to the Super 8.

Based on that, 2 groups have been formed in the Super 8 round, with Group 1 consisting of A1, B2, C1, and D2, and Group 2 comprising of A2, B1, C2, and D1.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *