How will the Group Stage Winners be Decided in the T20 World Cup 2024?

The 2024 Men’s T20 World Cup will kick off on June 2 in the West Indies and the USA. The ninth edition of the showpiece T20 tournament will be the biggest in terms of participating nations.

For the first time, a total of 20 teams will feature in the T20 World Cup, an increase of 4 teams from the previous edition. With that, this edition will also have a different format from the previous editions.

The 20 teams have been split into 4 groups of 5 each, with each allotted pre-decided seedings.

But what are the groups? What are the seedings? And how will the group stage winners be decided in the T20 World Cup 2024?

Here are the answers to all your questions below.

How do the groups stack up?

As mentioned above, all 20 teams have been divided into 4 groups, with each having 5 teams. Here’s how the groups look:

Group A: India, Pakistan, Ireland, Canada, USA

Group B: England, Australia, Namibia, Scotland, Oman

Group C: New Zealand, West Indies, Afghanistan, Uganda, Papua New Guinea

Group D: South Africa, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Netherlands, Nepal

Also Read | Complete List of T20 World Cup 2024 Squads

How will the group stage winners be decided in the T20 World Cup 2024?

In the group stage, each team will square off against the other 4 teams from their respective groups in a single round-robin format. 

The top 2 teams from each group stand a chance to advance to the second round, known as the Super 8s.

The point system is straightforward, with a win garnering 2 points, a tie, no result, or an abandoned match fetching 1 point each.

The teams with the most points will be placed higher on the points table. If teams have equal points and equal wins, then the team with the highest net run rate will get precedence.

Also Read | Explained: Super Over Rules in T20 World Cup 2024

What are pre-decided seedings for teams?

So all 20 teams have been assigned a seeding according to their group. For instance, teams from Group A — India, Pakistan, Ireland, Canada, and USA — are seeded as A1, A2, A3, A4, and A5. This applies to the other 3 groups as well.

These seedings are important in the context of the Super 8 stage format, as the fixtures and groups for the second round have been planned according to that.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *